Life expectancy - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 01-11-2012, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I'm a HT newb in the process of wanting to build a quality home theater for a 20'x20'x9' carpeted living room. I currently have an old Panasonic HTIB that works well, but doesn't have the audio fidelity I'm wanting.

The plan is for a 5.1 system with AVR. I have a few speaker sets I'm interested in getting, but am experiencing sticker shock at the prices. If I shell out for a more expensive set-up, how long should I expect the speakers to usable? I guess paying out that much for the system would be more bearable if they would be good for years (decades?) to come.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 01-11-2012, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Speakers can last for a very long time. There are a lot of variables in what makes a speaker last. Speakers lasting a decade is not out of the question. I have had speakers for twenty years that where as good as new. The foam surrounds never even cracked. Making speakers last a long time also means that you don't abuse them by blowing them or playing them beyond their limits.

One of the biggest problems I see in your case is the size of your room. It's really large. This makes it easy to over work speakers. A room 40'x40' is really to large to try and build a theater in and expect to reach louder SPL levels. Especially in the bass department.
post #3 of 8 Old 01-11-2012, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 295
40x40'! Are you sure? That's a HUGE space, bigger than many houses. The speakers should remain usable for most of your lifetime especially if they're in a temp controlled room.

I'm using some low end B&Ws I bought in 93. I live in a warm, high humidity environment and the speakers still work great. Same for the $200 Audiosource sub I bought in 99.