Need help creating new Home Theater - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 01-18-2012, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

I am new to the avsforums as well as to the concept of component home theater systems. Over the last two years i have purchased two "Home Theater in a Box" systems and i must say that i was dissapointed with both systems. Currently i have a samsung HT-C555 home theater system. While it performs average in mid range volumes, while turning up the volume i get a lot of distortion and jitter in the sound. The specifications of the HT-C555 (my current home theater system) is as follows.

The amplifier (along with the dvd player, radio tuner etc) is rated at 1000w.
Front speaker output= 166w x2 at 3 ohm
Surround speaker output= 166w x2 at 3 ohm
Center = 166w at 3 ohm
Subwoofer = 170w at 3 ohm.
Frequency range= 20hz-20khz
Signal to noise ratio=65db

The specifications of the speakers are
Front\\Surround\\center frequency range= 140hz-20khz.
Front\\Surround\\center impedance= 3 ohm
Front\\Surround\\center rated input= 166w
Subwoofer 40hz-160hz @ 3 ohm @ 170w.

So i guess what this means is that the amp can deliver 166w/c at 3 ohm right. I do not know much about speakers and amplifiers. But i know enough to realize that the system i currently own is low quality.

So i am now on a quest to build a component home theater system with a budget. My living room is around 16ft by 16 ft.

For now i have selected a few components, i would like your advice on whether these components are compatible with each other. I've read that if i dont select the correct speaker impedance for the av receiver i could potentially fry it at high volumes.

Here are the components

Front and Surround speakers=

Frequency range = 40hz-20khz.
Power Handling = 40w-180w.
Impedance= 4 ohm -8 ohm

Center Speaker has basically the same specifications.