Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-22-2012, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yragha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought these from Best Buy, reading several reviews not only on Amazon but also the Best Buy site reviews that state these work with TV's. I have a 42 inch but am wondering how do I hook these up correctly?

A poster (reviewer) on Amazon stated the green plug goes to the Headphone jack but I'm still getting sound from my TV speakers and nothing from the speaker system.

My current setup is HDMI from TV to Tivo and HDMI2 from TV to PS3.

Any help you could provide me would be great, thx.
yragha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-22-2012, 08:12 PM
Member
 
Remonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Go into your TVs menu and set the sound to "external" (and disable the internal speakers, if there's an option for that).
Remonster is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-22-2012, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yragha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have no such option available.
yragha is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-22-2012, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
astrallite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Have you tried using headphones with your headphone jack? To see if there's any output coming out?
astrallite is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-22-2012, 11:34 PM
Member
 
Remonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What kind of TV do you have? Go into the audio menu, is there anything else that sounds like it might do what you want in there? There has to be a way to reroute the sound to external speakers, otherwise why would they have included the 3.5mm jack?

If the Tivo has a similar 3.5mm jack, try plugging the speakers directly into that and watching something off of the Tivo, does the sound come out of the speakers with that setup?
Remonster is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-23-2012, 03:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yragha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Dynex DX-LCD42HD-09.

Don't see any options at all under the audio settings.
yragha is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-23-2012, 03:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yragha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remonster View Post

What kind of TV do you have? Go into the audio menu, is there anything else that sounds like it might do what you want in there? There has to be a way to reroute the sound to external speakers, otherwise why would they have included the 3.5mm jack?

If the Tivo has a similar 3.5mm jack, try plugging the speakers directly into that and watching something off of the Tivo, does the sound come out of the speakers with that setup?

Also the jack you speak of is lableled headphone jack.

Here is what I have available on the back of this set:

left to right -
power plug insert
s/pdif (manual says connect to a digital sound system)
av out
av in/ audio L-R
av video in
s video in
component 1/ component 2
vga audio/ pic
hdmi 1/ hdmi 2
headphone jack

UNDER AUDIO SETTINGS in menu:

Sound mode: personal, movie, standard or music (that is all)
Bass
Treble
Balance
Surround sound: off or on
AVC (auto volume control): off or on
SPDIF Type: PCM or RAW whatever that means
Audio Language: set to English

Thanks!

Thanks
yragha is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-21-2013, 08:51 PM
Newbie
 
Cohrsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased the same speakers from Best Buy today. They sound tremendously better than the TV speakers. I don't know a whole lot about the SPDIF Types...but, PCM is a more basic setting...it decodes the audio signal somehow....VS the RAW setting which does not (I think). All I did was hook up the Klipsch L/R speakers to the sub, plug the preamp cord. The green connection I plugged into my audio out jack (for headphones). I get sound from TV speakers too, but I went to the menu and turned them off. I get sound with both PCM and RAW options, but since these speakers are THX Certified I am assuming they will sound better with the RAW setting.
Cohrsman is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-02-2013, 12:23 PM
Member
 
memo90061's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought these speakers yesterday, and I'm blown away! They sound amaaaazing!
memo90061 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-19-2014, 02:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Old thread, but I have these speakers and am getting no sound from my left channel output or left headphone speaker. I'm not very electronically inclined, but have opened up the unit and don't see any blown fuses or obviously damaged circuitry. Any suggestions?
brendelac is offline  
Reply Speakers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off