Using Powered Speakers With Fixed Output - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2012, 09:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
schalliol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have a pair of Paradigm Shift A2 active speakers I would like to use with a TV that seems to lack the ability to fade the level. The speakers have a gain control, but the gain control is not something that can be adjusted by remote. It seems what I need to do is output line-level and then fade it using some IR-controlled box. Does anyone have a recommended way to handle this?

(Also posted in IR control, as I'm really unsure where this fits. Here's the link to it there. My apologies for any confusion.)
schalliol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2012, 01:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,021
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 868 Post(s)
Liked: 366
You need something like this. It's only the first that popped up, so have a Google.

Deadwood Atmos theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is online now  
Old 02-02-2012, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
schalliol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks! This is just the kind of thing I was looking for. I had Googled unsuccessfully previously.
schalliol is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,380
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Also, double-check the TV's manual. Sometimes there's a fixed/variable setting in the menu (or a second set of output jacks that works with the volume control).

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
schalliol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post

Also, double-check the TV's manual. Sometimes there's a fixed/variable setting in the menu (or a second set of output jacks that works with the volume control).

Yeah, I expected they would have a fading volume control in the Samsung 55 7000 series, as it's only one main notch down from their flagship LED-based design. Unfortunately, there simply is no possibility of avoiding line level output.
schalliol is offline  
Old 05-26-2012, 08:35 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
schalliol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The recommended products are out of stock and I'm ideally looking for a cheap product I can just buy to control the level. I suppose I could get a cheap pre-amp, but I'm having trouble finding something inexpensive. Does anyone have ideas? Thanks!
schalliol is offline  
Old 05-27-2012, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
shivaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Are you using a cable box with your tv. Many cable boxes have an internal volume control feature.
shivaji is offline  
Old 05-27-2012, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
schalliol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am, but the problem is that I might use internal sources like Netflix that I would like to use with the speakers. Great idea though! Other thoughts?
schalliol is offline  
Old 11-04-2012, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
schalliol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just FYI, I ended up using a RGC11 from Xantech and a cheapo Harmony remote for this limited system (Samsung 50" LCD + DirecTV) and it works great.
schalliol is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off