Aperion Speaker Question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 02-04-2012, 09:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

Please go easy on me, I'm a total novice when it comes to quality speaker setup! I just purchased some Aperion 4Ts and Aperion Verus Forte Satellite Speakers. I have these hooked up to a Onkyo TX-NR709, and I'm trying to understand the frequency response setup for the speakers. The Onkyo goes from full band to 200Hz for each speaker. I'm looking at the manual for the speakers, and it provides a range for the Freq Response (for example, the Satellites go from (+/-3db) 80-20,000hz and (+/-6db) 72-22,000hz. What the heck would I set on the Onkyo? Go with the lower number?

Thanks for any help in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 02-05-2012, 11:32 AM

Liked: 22
Hey Pusta welcome to the Aperion family, I don't have answer to your question myself as I am also new to this. (it was so much easier years ago when all you did was plug in receiver, hook up speakers, add a cassette player, and if you were feeling fancy add a graphic equalizer.) But I have picked up a little in the forum. If I'm wrong someone will correct me but I would start with running towers at full, and satellites at around 80hz. You can go from there and play with settings til it sounds good to you. Try both at full, both at 80, move from 80 up to 100 or down to 60. Just keep playing in about 20hz increments until you get sound dialed in. If no one else chimes in I would say go to best source for Aperion speakers, the Gurus, they can be very helpful with all questions. Also check out Aperion University on the website and see if the answer is there. Happy listening.
post #3 of 6 Old 02-05-2012, 12:10 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 29