Bought a pair of BA VS 260 with the 325 center - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 37 Old 02-10-2012, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wanted to share my initial impressions as I just received these speakers yesterday. I am no audiophile and my point of reference is a set of Polk Audio RM6880, which I've been using for almost three years now in my modest living room HT setup, and have been somewhat satisfied with.

I didn't plan on upgrading anytime soon but the closeout prices of these speakers made me change my mind. I had an arbitrary budget of $600 and decided to invest that on an L/C/R setup for now.

I spent more hours on this forum than I'd like to admit and finally narrowed down my choices to HSU HB/HC1, Aperion Verus Grand bookshelves with VG center and the BA VS 260/325 based on a mishmash of price, reading user experiences and professional reviews.

Finally I decided to go with the BA's as they seemed to offer the best proverbial bang for the buck. UPS was kind enough to deliver these with a gash in only one of the boxes, but the speakers inside were in perfect shape. These speakers just exude quality. The black lacquer finish is pristine and they look like a paid a fortune for them. I am a fan of its curvaceous body even if it is a pain trying to find a suitable speaker stand for it.

I hooked them up with my ancient Denon AVR-587 and demoed them briefly with some music CD's and an HD 5.1 movie on Netflix (barely adequate sound quality). This may sound blasphemous but I don't even own a single movie and I'll be picking up a blu-ray from Redbox on my way home today to further assess these speakers.