Splicing RG6 subwoofer cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-17-2012, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wiz561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi!

I moved all my equipment downstairs and ran all new wires for the speakers. I went from 16awg(?) to 12 awg. The subwoofer already had RG6 run through the wall and to a faceplate. I was unable to replace this section of wire because of spray foam and heater vents, so I just used a RG6 barrel connector on the one piece and extended the cable to the receiver. There was probably about 6' of rg6 already there, and about 20' of what I added. I also used compression connections at the ends of the cable I ran.

After all this, I re-ran the Audyssey setup (twice), and everything is working. The problem I am running into is that it does not seem like there's the same amount of bass after the setup, and Audyssey is saying the sw is 22'...which I read is not really the distance, but because of the circuitry, it is based on time than distance. I also checked the crossover points and raised them a little to 80hz, instead of 70hz.

In any case, should an extension like I did affect the performance of the subwoofer? Should I replace the entire length with a single run?

Thanks!
wiz561 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-17-2012, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wiz561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Argh... Can a mod please move this to the subwoofer forum? Sorry, just saw the sticky....


thanks
wiz561 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-17-2012, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeBiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The length of the cable will not affect the bass output from the sub or affect what Audyssey measures. The change is bass sound is due to the different room that the sound system is now in. Try moving the sub to a different location in the room and see if that improves the sound, or move your listening position.
MikeBiker is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-17-2012, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wiz561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the response. I did take out a tv stand that all the equipment was on. I'll try moving the speaker a little and redo it.

Thanks!
wiz561 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-17-2012, 10:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sivadselim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: CO
Posts: 16,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 69
As pointed out, doing what you did should be fine. Even if there was some signal loss (and there isn't), Audyssey would compensate by setting your subwoofer's level "higher". And, yes, it is important to leave the sub's distance setting where Audyssey sets it.

"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."
sivadselim is offline  
Reply Speakers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off