Need some help! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 02-28-2012, 05:56 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My living room is pre-wired for an HT audio system and there is a plate on the wall with inputs for all the pre-wires. The pre wires for all 5 speakers are in an 11'6" trayed ceiling...is this to high to mount speakers or can I just angle them downward?

Not sure if I want to go ahead and get a 5.1 system since I'm just starting out and that may be over budget, but I'm not sure, so I was thinking about getting a receiver that would allow me to start out with a sub and 2 bookshelf speakers for a 2.1 setup and then upgrade to a 5.1 or 7.1 setup later on. But, if a 5.1 setup can be done in my budget, would it be better than going with a 2.1 setup?

That being said, which receiver would be best for this? Should be able to handle 7.1 in the future. Also, what kind of bookshelf speakers and sub should I be looking into? I've heard good things about ONKYO receivers, but don't know much about speakers and subs. Doesn't need to blow the neighbors away, just want a good entry level set up to get some good HT sound. Trying to stay aunder $500 for everything.

Thanks for the help!

Projector - EPSON 8350
Screen - DIY BOC 120" Fixed Screen
AVR - Denon 1612
Speakers - PolkAudio Monitor 60's
Sub - Coming soon!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 02-28-2012, 06:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 636