HTPC - HDMI Output for extra speakers - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2012, 03:49 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Nsomnia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heres an interesting one that ive googled quite a long time for no luck, finally decided after a couple years to register on AVSForum to try to get an answer from the pros.

My HTPC is hooked up to a basic Logitec 5.1 speaker system through 3x 3.5mm audio jacks from my 7.1 soundcard.

Is there anyway (on windows 7) to use my LCD TV which is connected via HDMI from my Nvidia video card to the TV as two extra speakers.

Doing so I'd like to use FFDShow to swap my FR and FL channels to Mid Right and Mid Left and then usemy TV's speakers as FR and FL.

Is this at all possible? I would much prefer to do it through HDMI for ease of cableing but could it be done by simply using the Front Surround 3.5mm jack on my soundcard into the 'PC Audio' jack on my TV?

Any suggestions?
Nsomnia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2012, 07:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dbldare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Broomfield, CO USA
Posts: 2,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
You may want to post this question over in the Home Theater PC area. Those guys deal with this type of thing all the time.

My guess is "yes" you can do that. Have you tried? It can't hurt to hook up an HDMI cable.


Good luck.


dbl

Let's all go to the lobby
....Let's all go to the lobby
........Let's all go to the lobby
............To get ourselves a treat!
dbldare is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 07:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cel4145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 16,086
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2350 Post(s)
Liked: 2739
Definitely ask in the HTPC forum, but my guess is the answer might be no for using the HDMI. I don't think Windows will let you output audio using two different audio hardware devices on your PC at the same time. Might be wrong, though. But the RCA to PC Audio jack method sounds like it should definitely work.

Your questions are answered: Speaker FAQ
Living room HT: Energy RC-50, Ascend Sierra Horizon w/RAAL, Ascend Sierra 1, PSB Imagine XA | PSA V1500 and CHT SS 18.1 | Denon X4200W | modified Dayton SA1000
Other rooms: CBM-170 SE | SVS SB-1000 | Audio-GD NFB-11 | Parasound Zamp | JBL LSR305
Headphone & Portable AKG K7XX | NAD HP50 | AKG K550 | Soundmagic E50 & E80 | DX50 | E12 | X1
cel4145 is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 07:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dbldare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Broomfield, CO USA
Posts: 2,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hummmm. I don't really know, but I know that Windows allows for dual video "out of the box". You've given me something to try tonight.


dbl

Let's all go to the lobby
....Let's all go to the lobby
........Let's all go to the lobby
............To get ourselves a treat!
dbldare is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 07:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dbldare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Broomfield, CO USA
Posts: 2,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sorry to spam but I'm not sure the RCA to PC audio jack will work. It all depends on how your TV's inputs work and which one you are using to watch TV, DVD's, etc. As you switch the input on the TV, you may lose audio for that input.


dbl

Let's all go to the lobby
....Let's all go to the lobby
........Let's all go to the lobby
............To get ourselves a treat!
dbldare is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off