Low-end 5.1 suggestions -- computer speaker system - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 03-16-2012, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am building a low-end 5.1 system for my new computer. What is the best speaker system, ideally in the $200-300 range? The Paradigm Cinema CT (70/90/100/110 series) look nice but are at least 2-3x that price range, possibly the Martin Logan MLT1 or MLT2.

Can anyone recommend an integrated amp to go with this for under $200? I intend to be feeding it off of a Creative Labs Sound Blaster. Right now, I am looking at something like the Yamaha RX-V371BL, Denon AVR-391, or Pioneer VSX-821-K.

Damn it Jim, I'm a physicist, not an engineer!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 03-16-2012, 10:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 781
Those sound like good receiver choices in that budget range. If you want more receiver for your money, accessories4less.com has factory refurbished/factory warrantied Denons and Onkyos.

With promo code, the Energy Take 5 package at Newegg is only $150. Then get a sub separately to go with it. If you are in a small room, the Pioneer SW-8, which is very similar to the sub that is part of the Energy Take 5.1 package. What size is your room in cubic feet?

Your questions are answered: Speaker FAQ
HT: Energy RC-50, RC-LCR, Veritas VS Surrounds | Dual CHT SS 18.1s | Denon AVR-888 | modified Dayton SA1000 | Antimode 8033C
Desktop: CBM-170 SE | SVS SB-1000 | Audio-GD NFB-11 | HK 3390
Headphone & Portable HE-400 | K612 Pro | HP150 | DX50 | E12
post #3 of 8 Old 03-16-2012, 11:04 AM - Thread Starter

I didn't check in this case; I would say small, though not bathroom-small. It will have a permanently-open double-door. I can check later today.

Would you consider those Energy Take to be superior to the Martin Logan MLT-1 for $250, w/ sub (similar promo deal and duration.)