My challenge - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 04-18-2012, 10:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So i have read about hundred posts and found amazing material but not quite what i need. Here's my deal. I am new to this keep in mind...
I have two nht 1.1's currently with replacement dayton drivers. I am a college student working on a stupidly low budget but willing to use ebay audiogone or any other source to get good gear. I am looking for an 80% music 20% movie set up. I want a center channel and am looking at the matching nht center channel. For a sub i have read conflicting posts..what I am leaning toward now is a lava lsp08. I think it would pair well with my existing set up without overpowering it. It is for a small room (apartment). Also i would like receiver ideas. Doesn't have to be the most up to date, just put out great sound and not take a 4 year degree to set up (sony-es). One last thought i had was a carver amp for my nht speakers. they sound great loud but not so good quiet and i thought that may help to clean it up a bit.
Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-19-2012, 10:15 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 65
ok novice, I'll give it a shot...
never heard the nht's you mention, but with different drivers in them, even looking up the original specs would be pointless, they're different now. Speakers are designed as a sum of drivers, enclosure, and crossover, and changing one can throw it all off.
low budget... that's not helpful in this hobby... but what exactly do you NOT like about what you already have?
for 80% music, what's the need for a center channel? just use 2 channel. what's the sub? what's the receiver? room size? listening habits?
Lava subs? never heard them. Can't even compare without knowing what you have now, and what you want from any potential 'upgrade'. It may be a sideways step with no benefit except a thinner wallet.
Good receiver? Lots.