Connecting TV to external speaker produces buzz/hum - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 24 Old 04-22-2012, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I hope I'm posting in the right place ... I'm a newbie, not exactly wet behind the ears but by no means expert - and experiencing an annoying problem:

I have a Prosonic flatscreen TV with built-in DVD player, a Vantage 8000 satellite receiver, and a Bose SoundDock II loudspeaker unit. The satellite receiver is hooked up to the TV via a scart cable. I want to use the Bose to enhance the TV sound.

When I connect the sat receiver (from red and white RCA output sockets) to the Bose (3.5mm jack plug input), the Bose produces excellent, clean sound to accompany the channels I am watching on the TV.

But when I try linking the TV directly to the Bose in order to be able to play music CDs in the TV unit, there is a loud hum while the music is playing.
To link the TV and Bose I am using a male 3.5mm jack FROM the TV headphone socket TO a male 3.5mm jack into the back of the Bose.
But, as I say this is creating a buzz. Is it possible that the TV amplifier is disagreeing/clashing with the Bose amplifier?

The TV also has an orange-coloured socket ("Coax Audio Out"). Is this the connection I should be using?

Thank you for any advice you can offer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 04-22-2012, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I think you have to set both volume controls, the one on the TV and the one on the Bose. Try turning the volume down on the TV and then increase the volume on the Bose.

Espo77
post #3 of 24 Old 04-22-2012, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member

...as usual, Bose doesn't provide much info in their owners manual.

Espo77
post #4 of 24 Old 04-23-2012, 12:20 AM - Thread Starter

Thank you, Espo77