Computer to Outside speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 04-30-2012, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
 
camikazi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
was going to purchase http://www.crutchfield.com/p_107ATR4...um4-Black.html two set want to hook them up to a computer any suggestions?
camikazi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 04-30-2012, 08:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cel4145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 11,717
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 765
You need a power source: an amplifier or receiver.

Your questions are answered:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

HT: Energy RC-50, RC-LCR, Veritas VS Surrounds | Dual CHT SS 18.1s | Denon AVR-888 | modified Dayton SA1000 | Antimode 8033C
Desktop: CBM-170 SE | SVS SB-1000 | Audio-GD NFB-11 | HK 3390
Headphone & Portable HE-400 | K612 Pro | HP150 | DX50 | E12
cel4145 is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 05-01-2012, 06:22 PM
Member
 
camikazi2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any suggestions crutchfiled recommended
Yamaha R-S700 Stereo Home Theater Receiver
camikazi2k is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 05-01-2012, 06:25 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Two words "Wireless Speakers". Nothing further to say.
gregzoll is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 05-01-2012, 07:03 PM
Member
 
camikazi2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dont you need power for the wireless
camikazi2k is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 05-01-2012, 07:27 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by camikazi2k View Post

dont you need power for the wireless

Depends on what you mean by power. Power as in batteries, or a outlet to plug them into, yes you do need that. Otherwise, no wires between them and the device sending the audio to them. That is why they are called "Wireless speakers" (stated slow enough for you to understand).

Wireless has nothing to do with how you power them, it is how you get the audio to them. In other words, works on the same concept as a cordless phone. You know, those things that we used to use before cellphones came along, but had a base they sat on to recharge the battery.
gregzoll is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 05-01-2012, 07:32 PM
Member
 
camikazi2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I understand that, reason cant go with wireless. we installing them in a gas station so cant change battery ever. prefer wire
camikazi2k is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 05-01-2012, 07:40 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by camikazi2k View Post

I understand that, reason cant go with wireless. we installing them in a gas station so cant change battery ever. prefer wire

Again, you do not use batteries with wireless speakers. If using in a gas station, yes wired will work, but you will need a amplifier with possibly a pre-amp for piping the audio into. If this is for customers, keep in mind that the ruling authorities state that you will have to pay a licensing fee to use that in your place of business, if using something like cd's or tapes. That is why you see most places using something like Sirius/XM for business, or local radio stations.

As for your problem, you would need an electrician to run the wires for the speakers, since it is a business and licensed to operate by the authorities in not only your state, but your county or city/village.
gregzoll is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 05-01-2012, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nethawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Maybe someone less condescending and more knowledgeable will come along to help.

The speakers you chose are fine, you're now back to cel4145's feedback, you need a receiver to wire them to.

Nethawk is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 05-02-2012, 05:09 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nethawk View Post

Maybe someone less condescending and more knowledgeable will come along to help.

The speakers you chose are fine, you're now back to cel4145's feedback, you need a receiver to wire them to.

I am not be condescending, I am just laying it out on the table for the OP. If you think that what people post that you do not agree with is condescending, you may want to re-read it in the perspective of if you were the business owner, and some employee wanted to do this work, or if you were the owner, and just wanted to rig something up. Now, if you think what I just stated was condescending, sorry if you cannot take the opinions of others who can see what the OP is doing, and taking it in a reality perspective.

Going back to what I stated, since this is a commercial structure, they will need a licensed electrician to pull the wiring for the speakers, regardless of what type they go with.
gregzoll is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 05-02-2012, 05:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joeydrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by camikazi2k View Post

I understand that, reason cant go with wireless. we installing them in a gas station so cant change battery ever. prefer wire

Wireless is a pretty good idea. I use some in my room and the wireless signal gets sent from my receiver to a base station which is plugged into an outlet and the wires are ran from there to the speakers. That might work for you and save you a lot of wire running.

Pioneer Kuro...your time is up...mwahahhahhha
joeydrunk is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 05-02-2012, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:


I am not be condescending,

Yes you are, your level of knowledge is not stellar either.

Quote:


(stated slow enough for you to understand).

SAM64 is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 05-02-2012, 07:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cel4145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 11,717
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by camikazi2k View Post

any suggestions crutchfiled recommended
Yamaha R-S700 Stereo Home Theater Receiver

Do you have optical out on your computer? If so, you might want a receiver that has optical inputs, such as the Onkyo TX-8050. If you don't need optical inputs, the HK 3390 would work fine. Either would be a good cost savings over the Yamaha.

Your questions are answered:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

HT: Energy RC-50, RC-LCR, Veritas VS Surrounds | Dual CHT SS 18.1s | Denon AVR-888 | modified Dayton SA1000 | Antimode 8033C
Desktop: CBM-170 SE | SVS SB-1000 | Audio-GD NFB-11 | HK 3390
Headphone & Portable HE-400 | K612 Pro | HP150 | DX50 | E12
cel4145 is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 05-02-2012, 05:24 PM
Member
 
camikazi2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cel4145 View Post

Do you have optical out on your computer? If so, you might want a receiver that has optical inputs, such as the Onkyo TX-8050. If you don't need optical inputs, the HK 3390 would work fine. Either would be a good cost savings over the Yamaha.

Thank you no optical out was going from Mini to RCA cable to the receiver.

In regards to license concern, you are right these have to be installed by licensed electrician and they have to have some kind of special license for gas pump. thanks for the concern.
camikazi2k is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 05-02-2012, 05:45 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
If all it is for, is out at the pumps, look at a 70volt mono speaker system, since you will not need stereo out there. If this is just for inside the store, you can go with a regular mono amp, but need the pre-amp for what ever source you input (ie Sirius/XM for business, FM radio station, etc.)
gregzoll is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 05-02-2012, 07:02 PM
Member
 
camikazi2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any recommendations on mono system
camikazi2k is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 05-03-2012, 05:16 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Not really. There should be companies in your area that deal with this kind of stuff. Just don't buy the off the shelf stuff at Radioshack, since it is not the same grade of equipment they sold in the 70's.
gregzoll is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off