Surround sound all the time? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-13-2012, 09:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
23nesnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a vizio vht510 soundbar system because my space is limited. It sounds good but my issue is that the rear speakers only play if I'm watching something that's made to be in surround sound. I want to be able to have surround sound no matter what I'm watching. Whether I'm watching satellite tv, the news, or just playing video games? Is this possible? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
23nesnes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-13-2012, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by 23nesnes View Post

I just bought a vizio vht510 soundbar system because my space is limited. It sounds good but my issue is that the rear speakers only play if I'm watching something that's made to be in surround sound. I want to be able to have surround sound no matter what I'm watching. Whether I'm watching satellite tv, the news, or just playing video games? Is this possible? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Does your receiver have ProLogic 2X? I can't tell if you are using a receiver since I thought sound bars are connected straight to the tv?

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-13-2012, 10:31 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
23nesnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No receiver. They are connected straight to the tv.
23nesnes is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 05-13-2012, 10:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Matts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 23nesnes View Post

No receiver. They are connected straight to the tv.

Then you would definitely need a receiver that has something like what pokekevin stated. Why are using the TV's amp and limited surround processing. If it is a budget issue, there are many fine receivers on the market that can be had for well under $500.
Matts is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-13-2012, 10:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Yosh70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 2,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Try helping yourself and read the manual.....something about a switch at the back of the soundbar?
Yosh70 is online now  
Reply Speakers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off