2 amps & 1 pair of speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-17-2012, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fuzzy02cls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 1 set of main speakers. I want to run a higher power 2 channel amp for only stereo listening but at the same time I want the same set of speakers to run off my AV receiver for movies & TV use.

Anyway to do that without having to manually switch the speaker wires?


Thanks
fuzzy02cls is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-18-2012, 12:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
67jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 778
Niles audio makes devices that will do this. http://www.amazon.com/Niles-DPS-1-FG...ref=pd_cp_pc_0

I don't need snobs to tell me how to think, thank you!
LOL!
Why you wouldn't want to join this forum
67jason is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-18-2012, 12:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
keyboardcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
fuzzy a best buy worker a few months ago told me that Niles is good quality. he liked it a lot.
keyboardcat is online now  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-18-2012, 04:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 45
What receiver do you have?
ifor is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-18-2012, 06:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Audiojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Greater Pittsburg
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Easiest way todo this would be to use the pre-out from the AVR to the amp in. Better sound (assumingly... since you want to use the stereo amp) for both movies and as a 2-ch music.

"Suddenly the thought struck me, my floor is someone elses ceiling" - Nils Ferlin
Audiojan is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-18-2012, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Easiest way todo this would be to use the pre-out from the AVR to the amp in.

Not really, since that's not what the OP wants to do.
The easiest way would be to use a 4PDT switch to switch between both power amps.
SAM64 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-18-2012, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kiwi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiojan View Post

Easiest way todo this would be to use the pre-out from the AVR to the amp in. Better sound (assumingly... since you want to use the stereo amp) for both movies and as a 2-ch music.

That depends if the OP's '2 channel amp' is only a poweramp or an integrated 2ch amp or a pre-amp and poweramp combination.

I once had my system set up like this with a 2ch pre-amp and poweramp so the AVR could utilise the poweramp as well, but then still have a 2ch system independent of the AVR...

Attachment 247020


But if the OP has an integrated 2ch amp, then using the speaker wire A/B switch like posted earlier would be the way to do it.
LL
kiwi2 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-18-2012, 07:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fuzzy02cls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 1 set of mains. I want the 2 channel separate power amp which is a Crown Pro amp to only work for stereo. It will have a separate 4 channel mixer attached to the inputs. I will have a CD player, & Ipod, going through the mixer.
At the same time I want to use these speakers for my HT Yamaha receiver. Which will have my TV, cable & Blurray player thought that. Looks like the Niles DPS-1 may work. The Crown is 300/channel RMS
fuzzy02cls is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-19-2012, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 45
What model/brand are your mains? What model is your receiver? What model is the Crown amp? What model/brand is the mixer? What model/brand are your other speakers?

BASIC INFO GOES A LONG WAY!!!!!
ifor is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-19-2012, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fuzzy02cls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why would you need all that? It's a basic question. 2 completely separate systems doing different things sharing 1 pair of speakers. I know some AV setups have zones & pre amp oust etc. But again these are independent systems. I do not want either to touch each other except for the same set of main speakers. I ordered the Niles. Should work for what I want.

Thanks for the suggestions.
fuzzy02cls is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off