floorstanding speakers in the 1-2k range - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 151 Old 05-31-2012, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello!

Im new to the audiophile scene, and I'd love some advice.

Ive decided on the marantz pm8004 and ill probably be buying a rega p1 and a marantz SA8004 to go with it.

now - Speakers!

id really like something floorstanding, in the 1-2k range. if a sub is going to be required to get the full experience, id like to keep it all under 2k for the sub and speaker pair.

i really like the looks of the klipsch rf-7 ii, but im a bit concerned at 70 wpc, the marantz might struggle to power them. id prefer to have just speakers, and i think with dual 10" woofers, these would provide plenty of bass.

someone also recommended the paradigm monitor 9's with the monitor 12 sub, which i guess can be had for around 2k as well.

i like to listen to mostly classic rock.

any help/input greatly appreciated! thanks!

Paradigm Studio 100 Floorstanding Loudspeakers
REL R505 Subwoofer
Marantz PM8004 Integrated
Marantz SA8004 SACD
Rega P6 Turntable
Rega Exact 2 Cartridge
Cambridge Audio StreamMagic 6
Salamander Archetype 5.0 Equipment Rack
Chord ChameleonPlus, CobraPlus interconnect RCA
Legend Audio Bi-Wire...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 151 Old 05-31-2012, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 352
The Philharmonic 2 just makes it in your budget and would be a killer option (it performs way beyond it's price point).

Your amp would probably be ok with it, but you could contact Dennis to make sure (he is very honest and will not try to "sell" you anything).

http://www.philharmonicaudio.com/philharmonic2.html

There is a thread about his speakers here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1348949

post #3 of 151 Old 05-31-2012, 08:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn94 View Post