Speakers for Home Theater/Listening Room/Desktop...($1000) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 06-10-2012, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had my head turned around a few times in this search which has become more desperate in the last few weeks when I blew out one of my 25 year old free college speakers. The mono setup is just not working for me at all and needs to be replaced...

However, being a grad student, my uses are wide and varied, and my space is challenging. The room is about 10' x 13' x 8' (LxWxH) and functions as my office, listening room, and home theater. I am planning on putting up some foam panels on the sides and back wall as a start at acoustic management...nothing high tech, just some insulation from Home Depot. Whenever I am in the room, some audio is playing, probably about 75% music, 25% movies.

As for room setup, my desk is parallel to the short wall, offset about 2' from the wall so that my speakers have about 3' to the wall. I have 3 24" displays on my desk (about 60" wide) framed by my 2...erm...1 bookshelf speaker. About 4' behind my desk is a small couch. I was planning on getting a projector so that I didnt have to watch movies on my 24" screen anymore, but it looks like I am getting speakers instead...

For the speakers I have a MAX budget of $1000 to include the speakers, shipping, and any necessary stands, cables, DI boxes, etc.

I have an old, but good quality amp that delivers 2x70W at 8ohms, so that may or may not make it into my next system.