First serious non headphone purchase - Looking for guidance in 2.0/2.1 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 07-01-2012, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, this is my first post. I'm currently an Electrical Engineering student at George Washington University and I have been working very hard this summer to save up some money to get the privilege of listening to music. Growing up in Cleveland less than a mile away from one of the best concert halls in the world, I have always had a huge appreciation for music. To this point in my life, I largely care for quality over quantity, and as such have made very few purchase, but I intend them to last me an extremely long time.

Getting to the point, I'm looking to make a pretty serious jump into a 2.0 or 2.1 set up. As a college student, I value something that will be physically small, and as such will probably want to stay away from getting Amps/Receivers, and will probably stick with a pair of bookshelf monitors. For the next year, I will have them in my small bedroom (I don't have the measurements currently but something like 10 x 15). I would like to not only use them to listen to music, but also use them when playing video games occasionally or watching movies. I am guessing that after college I will have significantly more space, and would like the speakers to be able to fill a much bigger room. I have a desktop computer to play back media from. Musically, I would like to be able to listen to an extremely wide range of genres (I know thats not helpful, but I guess I'm hinting at all around performance).