MLT-2 Set up with Yamaha RX-V673 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 07-26-2012, 10:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

Finally!!!!!! I have connected my Yamaha Rx-V673 & MLT-2 speakers. Thanks to every one who posted comments on MLT-2 and Yamaha Rx-V673.

As usual I have an issue with my Subwoofer. Its not making noticeable sound, I am not sure whether I am using right words, communicating rightly. Center speaker is taking over the sub. All the sound is coming out of center and front and rear speakers. Sub is quite, very less sound coming out of sub.

I have selected right distance. I am not sure about level, i have selected all to +1db. and I am not using any equalizer.

If any one configured MLT-2 with similar AVR, please guide me. I am waiting.

Thanks and Regards
Chica17
Chica17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 07-27-2012, 12:02 AM
Member
 
brandon_k_w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Flick the phase setting on the subwoofer if it has one.
brandon_k_w is offline  
post #3 of 34 Old 07-27-2012, 12:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just now checked, changed the phase from 180 to 0. No affect, no improvement.
Same as before. Very very low sound. even I cant recognize is it the same song playing.
Chica17 is offline  
post #4 of 34 Old 07-27-2012, 03:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Exactly how do you have the subwoofer connected to the receiver?

What controls are there on the subwoofer and how are they set?
commsysman is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 07-27-2012, 05:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a RCA Cable, Y connected to the sub and single end connected to the AVR. In AVR I have a jack called sub woofer 1 & 2 jacks. I have connected it to 1.
cable is this with Y splitter - http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10236&cs_id=1023603&p_id=6305&seq=1&format=2

Do I need to look for something else??

Controls on the sub are,

1. Level - set to more than half
2. Low pass filter - set to normal range (more than half)
3. phase - set to 0 deg
4. I have a set button which says On-Auto-Off - set to Auto
Chica17 is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 07-27-2012, 08:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 379
1. Have you run YPAO with setup mic?

2. Are all your speakers set to small? If so all bass below a certain frequency would be redirected to the sub

3. What is the crossover setting?

According to the specs these are the frequency responses of the sats and center
MLT-2 SPEAKER:
- 110–20,000 Hz ±2db
- 2000 Hz Crossover Freq

MLT-2 CENTER:
- 130–20,000 Hz ±2db
- 2300 Hz Crossover Freq

Your receiver should have a crossover of 130hz or higher with this system.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #7 of 34 Old 07-27-2012, 08:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chica17 View Post

I have a RCA Cable, Y connected to the sub and single end connected to the AVR. In AVR I have a jack called sub woofer 1 & 2 jacks. I have connected it to 1.
cable is this with Y splitter - http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10236&cs_id=1023603&p_id=6305&seq=1&format=2
Do I need to look for something else??
Controls on the sub are,
1. Level - set to more than half
2. Low pass filter - set to normal range (more than half)
3. phase - set to 0 deg
4. I have a set button which says On-Auto-Off - set to Auto

Turn your low pass filter all the way to the right, the receiver will handle bass management.

Set the switch to ON right now until everything is configured correctly, then you can set it back to Auto.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #8 of 34 Old 07-27-2012, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of right and left jacks, I have LFE jack in brackets of right jack, I removed Y from RCA and connected that to Sub LFE single terminal. It also did not help, when I do that to Sub, do i need to change the jack in AVR also? I noticed some Coaxial jacks back in AVR do i need to try that too?

Anyway right now in office, I try once I go bacl to home this evening.

Thanks for all the suggestions!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Chica17 is offline  
post #9 of 34 Old 07-27-2012, 08:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 379
coaxial jacks have nothing to do with the subwoofer output. You have dedicated sub outs on that receiver. use the sub out labeled "1" below the speaker terminals.

You didn't answer my earlier question. Did you ever run YPAO with the calibration mic?

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #10 of 34 Old 07-27-2012, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am sorry, for not answering.

1. NO, I did not ran YPAO with calibration mic....I heard it makes lot of sound while calibrating, some times go to maximum so yesterday it was 1am and did not wanted to get beating from neighbours :-)

Do you think will it help? i was not sure. If you suggest it will make lot of difference, I will try evening. What you think?

2. Yes all the speakers set to Small

3. I have to check the corss over setting, is it frequency setting? or db setting?. Frequncy for sub set to 80Hz I think and db set to normal, all front and surroung set to +1db
Chica17 is offline  
post #11 of 34 Old 07-27-2012, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 250
You should run two cables from the receiver to the subwoofer.

Subout 1 on the receiver should connect to one of the subwoofer input jacks, and Subout 2 on the receiver should connect to the other subwoofer input jack.

The frequency limit control ON THE SUBWOOFER ITSELF should be set to around 100 Hz or 120 Hz or higher. Its ouput level control should be set to near maximum, say 80% of max.

Turn all of the frequency management settings and functions of the receiver to OFF!!!! Allow all frequencies to go to all speakers temporarily. This will eliminate or identify whether the problem is in the receiver.

Make sure you are playing some music with bass drum or string bass rhythm and if there is no bass the subwoofer amplifier must be defective.

A final way to make absolutely sure that the subwoofer amplifier is bad is to take one cable and connect it to one subwoofer input with it turned up. Then take one finger and dampen it with saliva and put it across the contacts at the other end of the cable.
This will produce a loud 60 Hz hum if it working; if not, it is dead.
commsysman is offline  
post #12 of 34 Old 07-27-2012, 10:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am confused now.

What I should do first?

Set the frequencies? if yes, whose? speakers or sub or center?

and what is the reason of connecting 2 cables to AVR and to Sub?. Just to check the Sub amplifier? of the receiver?

Please please help me understand this.

Regards
Chica
Chica17 is offline  
post #13 of 34 Old 07-27-2012, 10:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, Finally at least i could able to test this...

A final way to make absolutely sure that the subwoofer amplifier is bad is to take one cable and connect it to one subwoofer input with it turned up. Then take one finger and dampen it with saliva and put it across the contacts at the other end of the cable.
This will produce a loud 60 Hz hum if it working; if not, it is dead.

Sub woofer very well produces the hum....when I half removed co axial cable from its jack, its making big hum.....is it right?? i am understand it right??
Chica17 is offline  
post #14 of 34 Old 07-28-2012, 04:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the sound level should be to check sub/?? i am listening at -40db to -30db. Do I need to increase and check? does that make any affect?

For these speakers do we need to set the ohm value from 8ohm to 6 ohm???
Chica17 is offline  
post #15 of 34 Old 07-28-2012, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Since the subwoofer produces hum when you put your finger on the input cable, it seems to be working OK.

Two cables to the sub are needed for correct hookup; all the time.

It appears that you are not getting ANY output from the SUB 1 and SUB 2 jacks of the receiver.

If you turn off the frequency correction / controls on the receiver, those jacks should definitely be putting out a signal. You should get full signal to all speakers that way.

If not, the receiver seems to be defective.


A 6 ohm setting should work for almost any speaker.
commsysman is offline  
post #16 of 34 Old 07-28-2012, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks for u r guidance!!!!!!

I can now here some noticeable bass. I turned up max cross over and level knobs to max. and cross over frequency in AVR set to 200Hz.

couple of other problems i found. is Aux input sound coming in only in 2 fronts. any idea what needs to be done???
Chica17 is offline  
post #17 of 34 Old 07-28-2012, 10:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
couple of other problems i found. is Aux input sound coming in only in 2 fronts. any idea what needs to be done???

Change sounds fields from stereo to something else. Maybe 5 channel stereo or whatever Yamaha calls it.
Quote:
I can now here some noticeable bass. I turned up max cross over and level knobs to max. and cross over frequency in AVR set to 200Hz.

Don't turn the volume level all the way up, please use the calibration mic to get your speakers volumes set correctly.

don't really like a 200hz crossover, try something in the 120-150hz range.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #18 of 34 Old 07-28-2012, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you so much guys!!!!!!!!!!! Finally now after YPAO setting and sub set to 80% of max, and 120Hz cross over. Looks good.
Not yet 100% but, far better than a day before. I was worried if any of AVR and Sub are defective, not at least its confirmed that nothing is defective. Its just the fine tuning is what need to be done.
MLT-2 Satellites are ROCKING!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you so much again to Commsysman and afrogt..........
Chica17 is offline  
post #19 of 34 Old 07-28-2012, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still I am getting Audio input only in 2 fronts and a Sub. When I clicked information it shows, its 2 channel. Is it because i am playing movie from my laptop and input source is 2 channel or is it really a setting in SUB. ???

when I play music from USB its shows it as 5 channel, when i play it from laptop or Aux input it plays only 2 channel.
Chica17 is offline  
post #20 of 34 Old 07-28-2012, 01:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 379
How is it connected from laptop to receiver? HDMI, RCA cables to Aux Input? ??

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #21 of 34 Old 07-28-2012, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cracked this tooooo!!!!!!!!!!!

There was a setting in a AVR, you were right.

Now with YPAO I have set the speakers, however again I have a questions.???????????????

1. Rear speakers it set to Large, front and center Small and sub normal - Need confirmation, is it OK?
2. Sub 120Hz - Looks OK.
3. Sub = -10db - is it OK?
4. Front speakers = +7.5db is it OK?
5. Rear = +9db - is it OK?

I am worried, weather because of this wrong setting, my speakers may not affected!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks
Chica
Chica17 is offline  
post #22 of 34 Old 07-28-2012, 10:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 379
No way any of those speakers should be set to LARGE, change it to SMALL.

Other settings are probably okay.

But if you turn down your sub a bit and rerun YPAO again there wont be such a big difference between the sub, front and rear speaker levels.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #23 of 34 Old 07-29-2012, 08:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, you are correct. I had same thought. I have now changed it to small. Its getting better and better.

Do you think other setting like sats set to 9db and 7.5 db are they OK? thought spec of the speakers says +/- 2db and 3db? I am worried on it.

and one more may be stupid question, however when I listen sub closely voice is not coming from sub at all. Its making only a some kind of bass sound. is that what sub will do or even from sub we listen singer voice?

Regards
Chica
Chica17 is offline  
post #24 of 34 Old 07-29-2012, 10:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 379
The +/- 2 or 3db in the speaker specifications has nothing to do with the volume levels settings when you calibrate your system with YPAO.

I don't know the range for Yamaha receivers because I have two Denon's, but when I calibrated my systems I try to get my subwoofer level close to 0. Since your sub is set at -10 and then then other speakers are +7.5 and +9 it tells me the sub is way too loud. If you still have the volume level maxed on the back of the sub turn it down to the 12 o'clock position and rerun YPAO.

Even the 673 owners manual on page 37 tells you to turn the subwoofer volume to halfway and the crossover to max. You have your sub level up too loud. Please do this and rerun YPAO. The microphone should be placed in your main listening position at ear level.

I also looked in the manual and the min and max for any channel level is -10 and +10. You don't want any of your settings there. -10 means your sub is too loud and you need to turn it down!
Quote:
and one more may be stupid question, however when I listen sub closely voice is not coming from sub at all. Its making only a some kind of bass sound. is that what sub will do or even from sub we listen singer voice?

Voices aren't going to come from the sub. The subwoofer is for the lowest frequencies only. Its for deep bass.Voices will come from your other 5 speakers.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #25 of 34 Old 07-29-2012, 04:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!

I really really appreciate it,,,

The biggest problem now solved, every time I ran YPAO, it use to set surrounds to large, after doing exactly as per your instructions now they are small.

and level of sub is +3db and other

1. center = -1.5
2. Front speakers = +0 and 1.5db
3. Rear = -1 and -2db

How this looks?. and how u try to take sub to 0? do i need to reposition the sub for that??

and how about manually set after runing YPAO, i think with YPAO we get an near to good, not the best.

Regards
Chica
Chica17 is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 07-29-2012, 05:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 379
those settings are fine now, much better than before. You don't need to change anything else. Enjoy your system.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #27 of 34 Old 07-29-2012, 06:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah!!!!!!!!!!! Much much better..........

I want to understand lil better...what YPAO does?? It exactly sets the distance and speaker to smal or largel. And i want to understand the DB though speakers are at almost same distance, still some DB values changes. What it means? only a speakers sound values varies from there position and distance or YPAO does any internal setting. If I play with manual tuning of db value what happens?

Can you answer some of these things or guide me where i can get help on these??

I know you helped me lot, today morning i was really thinking i may do these setting all my life and wanted to sell all these and take some simple stuffs.
Chica17 is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 07-30-2012, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chica17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any sound track recommendations for this setup??

Please suggest some

And one more doubt on sub connections - Now I have a Coaxial cable connecting AVR sub 1 out to LEF in sub. Is it fine or do i need to have 2 cables for 2 jacks in AVR sub1&sub2 connecting 2 jacks in the speaker. Pls look at the below picture MLT-2 manual.

Chica17 is offline  
post #29 of 34 Old 07-30-2012, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
losservatore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,054
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 261
zune,mog are great sites to enjoy all types of music,use mog on a computer ,roku player, iphone and android or zune on computer,xbox and windows phone.


.a monthly charge to access unlimited songs, audio tracks of any type.

Panasonic 65VT60 / Marantz SR7005 / Marantz UD7007 /PSA XS30 /Revel Performa3 F206 / Revel Performa3 C205 / Sonos Connect/ Roku 3 / Amazon Fire tv / Xbox One / HTPC / Darbee 5000 /Sonos system for rooms/
losservatore is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 07-30-2012, 06:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
And one more doubt on sub connections - Now I have a Coaxial cable connecting AVR sub 1 out to LEF in sub. Is it fine or do i need to have 2 cables for 2 jacks in AVR sub1&sub2 connecting 2 jacks in the speaker. Pls look at the below picture MLT-2 manual.
leave it the way it is with a single cable to the LFE-IN jack...

Sub 2 is for another seperate subwoofer.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
Reply Speakers

Tags
Yamaha Rx V673 Receiver
Gear in this thread - V673 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off