Please help me!... No sound from Subwoofer... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 08-30-2012, 08:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NealAtTheWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my system all setup... Yamaha RX-V473, 2 Pioneer SP-FS-52 for fronts, Pioneer SP-C22 center, 2 Pioneer SP-BS22 for rears and a Klipsch SW-350 sub.

I got everything setup, turned it on, and it sounds good, but the sub isn't working at all. The blue light is on, on the front... but that's it. I have tried it at 0 and 180 Phase, volume I've tried all over the range, I have tried it set on auto power and on, I've had the lowpass at 90, but tried it all over the spectrum as well.

I am a home audio NOOBIE so if I am doing something wrong... maybe not setup the sub correctly or something? I am using an RCA cable with a y splitter into the line in L/R. I am plugged into the subwoofer port on the back of the receiver. When I first plug it in, It makes a buzzing sound when I first plug it in for a split second and that's it. I've tried 3 different RCA cables.

I found subwoofer settings on my receiver and turned it as high as 8.0 dB just to see if I could get ANYTHING... and nothing.

What am I doing wrong here?
NealAtTheWheel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 08-30-2012, 08:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 401
try setting all your speakers as small, that way the sub automatically kicks in for low frequenicies.

What source are you using? DVD? Blu Ray? Cable/satellite? MP3? what?

Did you use the calibration mic and run YPAO?

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 08-30-2012, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NealAtTheWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
EDIT**

I put a CD in and the sub was working... but with my DirectTV, that is where it is not working, I had it one ESPN, if that matters.
NealAtTheWheel is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 08-30-2012, 08:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 401
do you have a HD DirecTV receiver?

did you set it to output Dolby Digital? How is the sat receiver connected to your Yamaha?

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 08-30-2012, 08:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NealAtTheWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I did run the calibration with the YPAO. I am using all HDMI connections. The Satellite is what I've noticed the sub not working with, it appears to be working with the blu ray player.
NealAtTheWheel is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 08-30-2012, 08:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Make sure your DirecTV receiver is set to output Dolby Digital.

Menu
Settings & Help
Settings
Audio
Dolby Digital
Make sure Dolby Digital is ON

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 08-30-2012, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 605 Post(s)
Liked: 313
It does not matter how you set the DirecTV box. The sub should work regardless, as long as bass management is turned on.

Run the internal test noise. It should step through each speaker, then the sub. Does it make sound? If not, maybe the sub isn't working. Touch your finger to the tip of the RCA cable feeding the sub. It should buzz.

Deadwood theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #8 of 12 Old 08-30-2012, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NealAtTheWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll try and mess with the settings in directTV in the morning.

The internal test noise does indeed put a sound through the sub. I just tried Inception on the Blu Ray Player, and it sounded brilliant, with everything working! So it must just be something with the DirectTV I guess.
NealAtTheWheel is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 08-30-2012, 09:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NealAtTheWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post

Make sure your DirecTV receiver is set to output Dolby Digital.
Menu
Settings & Help
Settings
Audio
Dolby Digital
Make sure Dolby Digital is ON

I just tried it... GENIUS! I can't thank you enough! That was IT! Wow... thank you so much, such a simple little thing, and now, not only does the sub work, but it sounds 10x better overall!

You rock and I LOVE this forum!!! Man this place is awesome.
NealAtTheWheel is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 08-30-2012, 09:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 605 Post(s)
Liked: 313
^^ Glad you have made good progress. But if the sub is silent unless an LFE signal is present, the bass management setup is still not correct.

Deadwood theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #11 of 12 Old 08-31-2012, 06:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 401
He still needs to check that all his speakers are set to small. He manually has to do this since he has tower fronts which were probably set as large, the center too.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 08-31-2012, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NealAtTheWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post

He still needs to check that all his speakers are set to small. He manually has to do this since he has tower fronts which were probably set as large, the center too.

Ok we'll do. I'll set them all to small.
NealAtTheWheel is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off