Need help selecting correct system..... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 09-02-2012, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I need some help to determine what to purchase. I need a system with CD, radio and ipod dock and 8 speakers (& sub). I am a firefighter and we have a gym on the top floor of the station. It is a decent size room with 3 sections. I am planning on putting the main unit up front with 2 speakers and running wires in the ceiling to the middle for 2 more speakers and the rear with 2 more speakers.
What is a good way to go about this? We are asking our union for the money so I am guessing we aren't going to get more than $500.
Please help?!?!?!?!
Thanks,
Jay
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-02-2012, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
It sounds like this is a purely music system. Are you intending to have the same stereo source playing to all three pairs of speakers? If so, a standard Home Theater In a Box wouldn't be the right solution as it would play music just from the two fronts. I was able to find 8 channel amplifiers on Amazon for multi-room configurations, but the amp alone is what you have budgeted for the whole thing including speakers.

The cheapest way would be a system with a bunch of separate components. Three stereo amplifiers connected to a common audio source by way of 4 Y-splitters. Also, a source selector box, and a CD/Radio, and a separate Ipod dock. And then 6 speakers and a sub, although the sub you can get at that budget will be too small to do much in a large room.

Such a system would be a Frankenstein system, but I'm I'm understanding what you want to do correctly, I'm not sure there's an all in one system out there that will do what you want given your budget.

If this is what you're looking for, I could piece something together on Amazon to give you a starting point.
Old 09-02-2012, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter