**The Official Chane M&C 'Arx' owner's thread (A1, A1b, A2, A2b, A3, A5, etc.)** - Page 49 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 897Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 1911 Old 02-02-2016, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
dago52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mandeville, La.
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Correct, I am running a 12" sub to pick up the lows. However, I pulled them from the wall and set the crossover to 50Hz without the plug for testing. I think I am liking this set up much better. Its still not 2' from the wall, but they sound more full than before. I am still breaking them in so only time will tell. I will post my opinion & post review as I get more time on them.

Thanks
dago52 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 1911 Old 02-03-2016, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I'm probably in the minority but I'm not a big fan of the black ash look. Have you considered a solid black finish (dull, not shiny piano black)?
crbaldwin is online now  
post #1443 of 1911 Old 02-03-2016, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon Lane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,319
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbaldwin View Post
Have you considered a solid black finish (dull, not shiny piano black)?
Affirmative. (And for an example, the bases on the tower models are semigloss black paint.)

The problem with paint, however, is cost. Simulated black ash is literally the only way to make the line as affordable as it is.

Paint is not an insignificant increase, but we are likely to add it as a step-up around mid year.
christoofar and A-rab like this.
Jon Lane is offline  
post #1444 of 1911 Old 02-03-2016, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
christoofar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by dago52 View Post
Correct, I am running a 12" sub to pick up the lows. However, I pulled them from the wall and set the crossover to 50Hz without the plug for testing. I think I am liking this set up much better. Its still not 2' from the wall, but they sound more full than before. I am still breaking them in so only time will tell. I will post my opinion & post review as I get more time on them.

Thanks
Decided to follow your lead, after work yesterday I popped the plugs & reran Audessey, since I have enough space behind my 3 fronts to let them breathe. Came up setting them to full range, so I set them at 60hz x-over point, the surrounds to 80hz & will be doing some serious listening in the coming days. So far they seemed to sound a bit better in my short test .

Heart in SoCal - Soul from the Motor City
AFTV2+ SPMC=>SR6010=>Chane A2rx-c x 3+ DCM OW-1s x 2 +Klipch HQ-12 sub
christoofar is online now  
post #1445 of 1911 Old 02-03-2016, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
dago52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mandeville, La.
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by christoofar View Post
Decided to follow your lead, after work yesterday I popped the plugs & reran Audessey, since I have enough space behind my 3 fronts to let them breathe. Came up setting them to full range, so I set them at 60hz x-over point, the surrounds to 80hz & will be doing some serious listening in the coming days. So far they seemed to sound a bit better in my short test .
Nice, my auto calibration also set the A5's to large and 120hz, so I changed them to small. I have been back in forth with the plugs and 60hz on the A5's and set the A2 to 80hz. I have approximately 20 hours on them and I can tell they are starting to open up a bit.

So you are not using the plugs?
dago52 is offline  
post #1446 of 1911 Old 02-03-2016, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
christoofar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by dago52 View Post
Nice, my auto calibration also set the A5's to large and 120hz, so I changed them to small. I have been back in forth with the plugs and 60hz on the A5's and set the A2 to 80hz. I have approximately 20 hours on them and I can tell they are starting to open up a bit.

So you are not using the plugs?
I love having Audessey for my odd ball room layout, but it *never* seems to get speaker size & x-over points right. For my 3 centers, it set them as full range ( large and 120hz makes no sense either.)Yes, I took out the plugs last night, but like I mentioned above have not had much time listening yet to see if doing this makes a difference in SQ. I set them as small @ 60hz, all the rest to 80hz x-over.
BufordTJustice likes this.

Heart in SoCal - Soul from the Motor City
AFTV2+ SPMC=>SR6010=>Chane A2rx-c x 3+ DCM OW-1s x 2 +Klipch HQ-12 sub
christoofar is online now  
post #1447 of 1911 Old 02-03-2016, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northern NJ & Myrtle Beach area, SC
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 254
**The Official Chane M&C 'Arx' owner's thread (A1, A1b, A2, A2b, A3, A5, etc.)**

Quote:
Originally Posted by dago52 View Post
Look what arrived today!!!

Dago; what's holding your shelf up?? Looks like it's hanging with no support brackets.

Let me know please
yanks1 is offline  
post #1448 of 1911 Old 02-03-2016, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
dago52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mandeville, La.
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanks1 View Post
Dago; what's holding your shelf up?? Looks like it's hanging with no support brackets.

Let me know please
Correct, it is a floating shelf. I built it about 2 years ago and it works great. I screwed a 2x4 to the wall and it inserts into the shelf. The bottom shelf helps support everything because it is against the wall. Now I have to build another shelf because the A2 is much deeper than my last center and I want a bigger TV. Here are a couple of pics that may help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0554.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	155.7 KB
ID:	1228393   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0555.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	140.7 KB
ID:	1228401  
BufordTJustice likes this.
dago52 is offline  
post #1449 of 1911 Old 02-03-2016, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northern NJ & Myrtle Beach area, SC
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 254
**The Official Chane M&C 'Arx' owner's thread (A1, A1b, A2, A2b, A3, A5, etc.)**

thx! In near future for one of my set-ups I have to build shelf or mantle to hold my new Polk LSiM 704c center that weighs 29 lbs.

Shelf will be below 60" TV and right above wall mounted electric fireplace. Could be a bit tricky, thx for the additional pix also
yanks1 is offline  
post #1450 of 1911 Old 02-03-2016, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
dago52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mandeville, La.
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 40
No problem. When I build my next shelf I will try to take more pics of the process.
dago52 is offline  
post #1451 of 1911 Old 02-03-2016, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by dago52 View Post
Correct, it is a floating shelf. I built it about 2 years ago and it works great. I screwed a 2x4 to the wall and it inserts into the shelf. The bottom shelf helps support everything because it is against the wall. Now I have to build another shelf because the A2 is much deeper than my last center and I want a bigger TV. Here are a couple of pics that may help.
I put the blame on the owner, the VP, the general. It's JJ.
tinhvo is offline  
post #1452 of 1911 Old 02-04-2016, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Maverick0984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by christoofar View Post
I love having Audessey for my odd ball room layout, but it *never* seems to get speaker size & x-over points right. For my 3 centers, it set them as full range ( large and 120hz makes no sense either.)Yes, I took out the plugs last night, but like I mentioned above have not had much time listening yet to see if doing this makes a difference in SQ. I set them as small @ 60hz, all the rest to 80hz x-over.
So, I guess I have no clue what to set mine then for a crossover freq. I haven't been able to run Audessey yet but was assuming it'd set it all for me. I don't have a sub yet either, but will down the road.

I just got 2xA3's and an A2 installed and plugged in a couple nights ago and that's all the time I've had. Before the weekend I'll run Audessey but if it comes back full and 120hz for all 3, what's the logic behind changing it? Perhaps a crossover freq for dummies thread/link?
Maverick0984 is offline  
post #1453 of 1911 Old 02-04-2016, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
Bandg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I believe the rule of thumb is setting the speaker size to small and crossover to 80 when running with a sub. That usually gets you close to optimal and one can adjust from there for best sound. If you aren't running a sub the speakers should be set to full and the crossover should not be activated, or set so low, that it wouldn't matter.Let your ears help you make adjustments from the initial settings. Hope this helps.Those that with more knowledge feel free to correct the record.
BufordTJustice likes this.
Bandg is offline  
post #1454 of 1911 Old 02-04-2016, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
BufordTJustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandg View Post
I believe the rule of thumb is setting the speaker size to small and crossover to 80 when running with a sub. That usually gets you close to optimal and one can adjust from there for best sound. If you aren't running a sub the speakers should be set to full and the crossover should not be activated, or set so low, that it wouldn't matter.Let your ears help you make adjustments from the initial settings. Hope this helps.Those that with more knowledge feel free to correct the record.
Agreed. Don't be afraid to deviate between 90 and 60hz for the front three to find what works for you and your setup.

Arcam AVR300, Adcom GFA-5500 (Main L+R), Panny BDT-500 Media Transport, Toshiba SD-9200 CD Transport, MiniDSP 2x4 HD, Vizio XVT 55" LED/LCD (full direct-backlit w/ local dimming), Darbee DVP-5000S, Chane A2.4 mains, Chane A3rx-c surrounds, Center TBD, 18" XBL2/SplitGap 4th order Bandpass subwoofer x 2 (custom build), BJC ten-white w/ ultrasonically welded WBT locking banana connectors.
BufordTJustice is offline  
post #1455 of 1911 Old 02-05-2016, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Maverick0984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 120
After running Audyssey, it wants the 2xA3's at large, the A2 at small, with crossovers of 40hz.

Seems like that is a solid starting point before I add a sub and surrounds?
Maverick0984 is offline  
post #1456 of 1911 Old 02-05-2016, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
dago52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mandeville, La.
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick0984 View Post
After running Audyssey, it wants the 2xA3's at large, the A2 at small, with crossovers of 40hz.

Seems like that is a solid starting point before I add a sub and surrounds?
Are you running a sub?
dago52 is offline  
post #1457 of 1911 Old 02-05-2016, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Maverick0984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by dago52 View Post
Are you running a sub?
Not currently, no. Eventually, yes.
Maverick0984 is offline  
post #1458 of 1911 Old 02-17-2016, 07:13 PM
Newbie
 
Husker41082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a pretty big multipurpose room/theater area about 15' wide and 28' deep. MLP is around 14' from my projector screen. Would I be better off going with the A3's or A5's for left and right duties. Probably about 75% Movies/TV, 25% Music/Games. This will be paired with a SVS PB-1000 and Denon X2200 that have already been purchased. My wife is opposed to anything requiring stands as am I with a 2 and 5 year old. Most listening will also be nowhere near reference level so looking for a speaker that can play well at lower levels.

Thanks,

Last edited by Husker41082; 02-17-2016 at 07:16 PM.
Husker41082 is offline  
post #1459 of 1911 Old 02-17-2016, 08:14 PM
Senior Member
 
dago52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mandeville, La.
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Just an update on my A5's & A2 experience. So far I am loving the speakers and they keep getting better. They sound so clear and the details are phenomenal. As mentioned in previous threads, I can hear instruments in music that I have never heard before. I was able to spread out the A5's giving me a wider front stage. I have been running them without the plugs, but I am still testing. I plan to upgrade my receiver soon so hopefully they will open up even more with some additional power. I am seriously thinking about adding some small risers for the A5's to get them off the floor. They came with spikes but I am not using them because of my wood floors. I am looking forward to the advancement of the Chane speaker company and hope they release some smaller speakers for my front heights.

Thanks
dago52 is offline  
post #1460 of 1911 Old 02-17-2016, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Maverick0984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by dago52 View Post
Just an update on my A5's & A2 experience. So far I am loving the speakers and they keep getting better. They sound so clear and the details are phenomenal. As mentioned in previous threads, I can hear instruments in music that I have never heard before. I was able to spread out the A5's giving me a wider front stage. I have been running them without the plugs, but I am still testing. I plan to upgrade my receiver soon so hopefully they will open up even more with some additional power. I am seriously thinking about adding some small risers for the A5's to get them off the floor. They came with spikes but I am not using them because of my wood floors. I am looking forward to the advancement of the Chane speaker company and hope they release some smaller speakers for my front heights.

Thanks
How far from the wall are your A5's?

My A3's are about 4" or so from the wall for WAF related reasons which warrants plugs I feel.
Maverick0984 is offline  
post #1461 of 1911 Old 02-17-2016, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northern NJ & Myrtle Beach area, SC
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 254
**The Official Chane M&C 'Arx' owner's thread (A1, A1b, A2, A2b, A3, A5, etc.)**

Husker: I am a big music fan and recently chose the A3 over the A5. Reason is I don't blast music or movies and these sound very clear w/tight mid-bass at any volume.

Plus I have them crossed over at 60 Hz to an Outlaw X12 subwoofer I bought on sale in Nov. Its a good combo and has lots of punch if & when I do crank it. Due to using a good sub, I don't think the A5 is worth the extra $$. But that said, most speak very highly of them. Good luck! Also, I got an A2 as center speaker which is awesome value & sounds great.
yanks1 is offline  
post #1462 of 1911 Old 02-17-2016, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Maverick0984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanks1 View Post
Husker: I am a big music fan and recently chose the A3 over the A5. Reason is I don't blast music or movies and these sound very clear w/tight mid-bass at any volume.

Plus I have them crossed over at 60 Hz to an Outlaw X12 subwoofer I bought on sale in Nov. Its a good combo and has lots of punch if & when I do crank it. Due to using a good sub, I don't think the A5 is worth the extra $$. But that said, most speak very highly of them. Good luck! Also, I got an A2 as center speaker which is awesome value & sounds great.
Do you have any rears? I am looking for a good sub and rears to pair with my A3's and A2. I feel even the A1's are a bit overkill for the space.
Maverick0984 is offline  
post #1463 of 1911 Old 02-18-2016, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
dago52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mandeville, La.
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Mav, I am approximately 6" from the wall, but I am still testing. FYI, I run the EMP Bipole surrounds and they seem to blend pretty good with my front stage. I would also like any recommendations for front heights?? The front heights I am using now are part of my ELT set which I would like to sell. I am considering a couple of EMP bookshelves or some cheaper Dayton speakers to hold me over.

Any thoughts?
dago52 is offline  
post #1464 of 1911 Old 02-18-2016, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northern NJ & Myrtle Beach area, SC
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 254
**The Official Chane M&C 'Arx' owner's thread (A1, A1b, A2, A2b, A3, A5, etc.)**

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick0984 View Post
Do you have any rears? I am looking for a good sub and rears to pair with my A3's and A2. I feel even the A1's are a bit overkill for the space.

Good question... For now just using older set of small Celestion bookshelfs on rear wall. At one point, I'll perhaps upgrade them. But this set up is at our out of state residence/vacation home so no immediate rush. Good luck!
yanks1 is offline  
post #1465 of 1911 Old 02-18-2016, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Maverick0984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Does anyone have any suggestions for mounting A1's on a back wall to serve as rears?
Maverick0984 is offline  
post #1466 of 1911 Old 02-18-2016, 05:46 PM
Member
 
supercell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Interesting discussion about spacing from the wall. Is there a set distance from the wall for the A3/A5's where the plug would be more optimal or is it just a matter of preference?
supercell is offline  
post #1467 of 1911 Old 02-18-2016, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Maverick0984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by supercell View Post
Interesting discussion about spacing from the wall. Is there a set distance from the wall for the A3/A5's where the plug would be more optimal or is it just a matter of preference?
Yeah, I don't really know. I have a feeling it is more like 12-18" though to be plugless. Something I am not close to at all.
Maverick0984 is offline  
post #1468 of 1911 Old 02-18-2016, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
dago52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mandeville, La.
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 40
The manual recommends I think 2' from the wall without plugs. I think it is due to the rear port so they can breathe.
yanks1 likes this.
dago52 is offline  
post #1469 of 1911 Old 02-19-2016, 04:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon Lane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,319
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by dago52 View Post
I am seriously thinking about adding some small risers for the A5's to get them off the floor. They came with spikes but I am not using them because of my wood floors.
Since both the cabinet and base have threaded metal inserts, you have a lot of options. Try Brass & Granite Audio for a variety of options ranging from simple thread-in feet to adjustable metal outrigger bases. They also have metal discs to protect hardwood floors and tile. Maybe a user will organize a group and get some A3/A5 bases made.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dago52 View Post
I plan to upgrade my receiver soon so hopefully they will open up even more with some additional power. They sound so clear and the details are phenomenal. As mentioned in previous threads, I can hear instruments in music that I have never heard before. I was able to spread out the A5's giving me a wider front stage...

I am looking forward to the advancement of the Chane speaker company and hope they release some smaller speakers for my front heights.
Thanks for the kind words. Your findings are consistent with other users who enjoy their setups: Many find they can upgrade their amplification and even their sources. Soundstaging returns and most users report more time spent listening to music and less to gear.

We also look forward to expanding the range. Thanks again!
Jon Lane is offline  
post #1470 of 1911 Old 02-23-2016, 09:30 PM
Member
 
jocanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Is there a certain volume level you should run the speakers at in order to break them in? Can I just turn them on a looped sound track and let them run all day for a few weeks without too much risk of damage (of course there is always some risk of damage no matter what you do, but is this a reasonable approach with out an unwise amount of risk I would damage equipment - dont' worry, I am not going to try to sue anybody if they say "yeah, go for it..." and then my equipment gets damaged...I just want an honest answer - I take full responsibility for what I chose to do with the information)? I have a1rx-c, a2rx-c, a3rx-c, and svs pb-1000 speakers powered by a yahmaha rx-v677 receiver.

Last edited by jocanton; 02-24-2016 at 08:14 AM.
jocanton is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Speakers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off