Personal advise for a sound engineer - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 42 Old 10-06-2012, 10:05 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi everyone. Awesome forum smile.gif

I am a sound engineer. I record and mix a lot of music and do work for cable tv shows.

I am expanding my space and creating a listening space for myself that is away from the studio. The seating area is 12'x12' with one of the sides open to a rear area where my bar is.

Here is the deal: I am thinking about doing a surround sound setup in that room because I love watching movies and there will be a speaker in the bathroom and speakers in the bedroom as well. I am nuts... a sound engineer needs music everywhere!

Does anyone have any experience with in-wall speaker solutions that sound good? I have heard some before and I have always thought they sounded like crap, but it has been a while.
Also, I am looking to dedicate a HTPC computer and run a media app which will be j-river:
http://www.jriver.com/

So does anyone have any experience with a setup like this? I would like a nice system since I listen to music all the time (the stuff I am mixing and released music) I just don't want cube speakers hanging off the walls. Who knows... maybe there are good solutions that look and sound good. Oh, no Bose!!!!!!!! LOL

Cost wise I am looking to spend 400-600 on the surround system. The lower end of the scale would be better since I have to get a bunch of amps for everything. Size does matter. I am looking for smaller vs larger speakers to keep the space "simple looking" since my job is very mentally demanding. The whole suite is a simple but moderately modern looking so I can relax from the mental challenge of critical listening, engineering and mixing sound.

I am not opposed to cutting holes in walls and finishing them out to slide in speakers into a recessed shelve.

Ok, to wrap up:
office: 2 ceiling/wall speakers
bedroom: 2 ceiling/wall speakers