My TV doesn't support variable output with ext speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 10-07-2012, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ahwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung 52" LED TV and because of the poor audio output, I elected to hook up external speakers connected via mini pin out from the TV. They sound great and all is well with one huge exception, because my TV doesn't support variable audio out via external speakers, I have to manually adjust my volume control at the speakers (not fun having to get out of bed to do so!). Is there some sort of external device that would allow me to bridge between the TV/Speakers which would support IR volume control? I'd really hate to have to dump my speakers just because of this one limitation.

With kind regards,
Chuck:)
ahwman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 10-07-2012, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1173
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahwman View Post

my TV doesn't support variable audio out via external speakers
Most don't. They assume if you have a big screen you're also going to have a HT sound system, using its receiver to control the volume. That's pretty much your only option that I'm aware of.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 10-07-2012, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
J_Palmer_Cass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Recheck all of your TV menu's to see if there is an option hidden deep in there. I own a Sony, so maybe you can give out the full model number for your TV.

For audio I can control tv speakers as being on and off, fixed and variable analog audio out and fixed DD 5.1 optical audio out.

If you are on cable, you can use the cable box analog audio outputs.
J_Palmer_Cass is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 10-07-2012, 05:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Dave1027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: California
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yep. Sonys have that function. I have never seen a samsung with it. Some samsungs have a headset jack that can be used. OP, you will probably need an AVR that you can control with the TV remote.
Dave1027 is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off