Help with speaker purchase - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 24 Old 10-18-2012, 08:22 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys.. I am a noob when it comes to home audio but I see this seems to be the season to get speakers discounted as the holidays approach. I have about a 12x15 room and looking to setup a 5.1 system. I have been doing some research and it seems polk may be the way to go for a pretty good budget system (although I have read some good stuff on pioneer as well). I was looking to spend no more than $500 on speakers and a sub. I am likely going to buy the Onkyo NR515 or NR616 (seems they fixed the HDMI issues) once a deal comes around.... That all being said can I use bookshelves for rear and front? Also can I use the exact same speakers for rear and front or is it recommended to get different speakers for them? And lastly for that size room what is a good size bass speaker to buy? If you guys can give me some models for fronts, rears, center and sub for $500 or less that would be great.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 10-19-2012, 07:40 AM

Liked: 11