AVS Forum banner

Can AVSForum help a newbie to build his first HT system??

2K views 38 replies 13 participants last post by  darkpoet25 
#1 ·
Hello Experts,

My first post here and lemme begin by congratulating for all the suggestions that you folks are offering for people like me!

I live in an apartment and I am planning to set up a decent HT system in my living room, which is 15*12 and leads up to a 8*7 dining room and a open kitchen.

My budget for the entire system is ~$1000.

Just to let you know what i've never used a HT system before, not even a good stereo system. I've been listening to the TV speakers for all these years.

After some initial research, I've shortlisted the following components.

Yamaha RX - A720 - $650

Energy Take Classic 5 - $150

Energy ESW C8 - $200

My Ideal usage would be;

- Music\Movies via blu ray, Radio & streaming of music from my Ipad.

- I definitely NOT want my system to shake the walls or rattle the floors nor i like the boomy sound of the sub. All i need is good clear sound and feel a decent base from the sub.

My question to you guys would be;

1. Do I really need to spend 70% of my budget on a receiver? I shortlisted 720 because I wanted this to last at least for the next 8 to 10 years.

2. I am also very confused between the bookshelf and satellite speakers. Unfortunately I couldn't see or hear the Energy Take Classic in any of the local stores at were i live. But did listen to the Energy bookshelf at the local best buy and was quite impressed with the sound. I shortlisted Energy classic 5, purely based on the various reviews from CNet, Amazon etc. Any suggestions here?

3. Can these Energy Take 5 speakers go down to 80hz? I read somewhere the satellite speakers should go down to 80, in order for the subs to take over and provide a good overall sound.