Help: speaker advise - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 12-11-2012, 12:35 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a noob seeking some help -

I live overseas, where taxes and shipping at least double speaker costs, few speakers available for serious demo'ing, and there is hardly any returns allowed. the best i can do is get answers from esteemed forum members!

And so, I've married an architect. My dear beloved wife is not a fan of electronics, and is not wild about me buying big speakers. No good deed goes unpunished...

We have a large living room - 16X16ft, 8.2 ceiling. One side of the living room is all glass. the other is open to our dining room (one big space). The speakers will be placed 8 ft apart, on top of a credenza (at listening height). We have a sonos 120 amp which we love very much and wish to keep. We use the system for music only (of all types and genres). We don't listen at high volumes - low to medium only.

I am considering a setup of either a pair of small bookshelves plus cheap sub, or bigger bookshelves (such as ascend 340's). Total price should be around 500$.

what speakers would you recommend? Which (cheap) sub do you recommend? would small omni speakers be better for this room?

Any input will be appreciated!

Yadin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 12-11-2012, 01:04 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Best to buy local brands to keep costs down. If you are in the UK, try KEF. Even their smaller units use their amazing coaxial tweeter/midrange drivers which maintain excellent, musical sound quality in lively rooms due to their smooth off-axis response.

Try them first without a sub, as when sitting on a credenza about a foot from the rear wall you will get a good dose of bass reinforcement.
post #3 of 4 Old 12-11-2012, 01:21 AM - Thread Starter

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Roger!