Looking for new speakers under $400 - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 40 Old 12-15-2012, 10:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slickmastajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paraneer View Post

Congrats on the Diamond 10.2's. The RCA stuff is CCA, Copper Clad Aluminum, and personally I would not use it, even for short runs. So is the GE Pro wire found at Home Depot, Lowes, Targets, etc. Speaker wire doesn't have to be expensive but it should at least be pure copper.

Even with shipping charges, I still suggest Monoprice because it is quality pure copper wire at a good price. But if you cannot wait for Monoprice because you will have your speakers in two days, I would suggest the Rocketfish 16 gauge wire at Best Buy. It is pure copper and I believe it comes in 30 foot spools. Should be about the same price as Monoprice wire plus the shipping charge. Good luck.

Thank you so much for the information. I looked on monoprice first because I knew they have good cables from previous purchases but I couldnt wait since my 10.2 would be here by Wednesday lol. I'll use the rca wires for the moment being till I recieve the monoprice cables I will ord er tomorrow.

Now another question is 14awg good or would 12 awg be preferred? I've had experience with 12awg from monoprice and they're really really thick. Very hard to bend

Sent from my SGH-T889 aka "Galaxy Note 2" running the Force v6.1 using Tapatalk 2
slickmastajay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 40 Old 12-16-2012, 06:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Paraneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
For the short runs you are making, 16 gauge is just fine. But as I pointed out in an earlier post, since Monoprice comes in 50' spools or larger, why not get 14 or 12 gauge and if you ever have to make a longer run, you now have the heavier stuff on hand. Its like $3.00 more for 14 gauge.

Parasound 5125, Parasound 2100, Pro-ject RM 5.1SE, Dynavector 10x5, Pro-ject Phono Box S, Pro-ject Speed Box II, Arcam FMJ CD17, Pioneer Elite VSX-52, Pioneer Elite BDP-52FD, Vienna Acoustics Bach Grands, Vienna Acoustics Theatro Grand, Wharfedale Diamond 9.2s, REL T-1 & Panasonic TC-P54S1
Paraneer is offline  
post #33 of 40 Old 12-16-2012, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slickmastajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paraneer View Post

For the short runs you are making, 16 gauge is just fine. But as I pointed out in an earlier post, since Monoprice comes in 50' spools or larger, why not get 14 or 12 gauge and if you ever have to make a longer run, you now have the heavier stuff on hand. Its like $3.00 more for 14 gauge.

Okay so I will go with the 14awg since I feel the 12 awg is too thick?

Sent from my SGH-T889 aka "Galaxy Note 2" running the Force v6.1 using Tapatalk 2
slickmastajay is offline  
post #34 of 40 Old 12-16-2012, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Paraneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
That will work. Makes sense to me. Monoprice 14 gauge will be just fine for your current or future installations. Enjoy your new speakers!

Parasound 5125, Parasound 2100, Pro-ject RM 5.1SE, Dynavector 10x5, Pro-ject Phono Box S, Pro-ject Speed Box II, Arcam FMJ CD17, Pioneer Elite VSX-52, Pioneer Elite BDP-52FD, Vienna Acoustics Bach Grands, Vienna Acoustics Theatro Grand, Wharfedale Diamond 9.2s, REL T-1 & Panasonic TC-P54S1
Paraneer is offline  
post #35 of 40 Old 12-16-2012, 09:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slickmastajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paraneer View Post

That will work. Makes sense to me. Monoprice 14 gauge will be just fine for your current or future installations. Enjoy your new speakers!

Thank you so much for all your help! I'm sure I will smile.gif

Sent from my SGH-T889 aka "Galaxy Note 2" running the Force v6.1 using Tapatalk 2
slickmastajay is offline  
post #36 of 40 Old 12-16-2012, 06:08 PM
Member
 
BayouTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went looking for new bookshelf units for my home office yesterday fully expecting to come back with either the B&W 685 or the Paradigm Studio 10s either of which would bust the budget for this thread big time, but to my surprise I came home with the System Audio Saxo10's. yes they bust the budget handily as well, buti was close to getting the Saxo1 which is close to the $400 (I was quoted $500, not sure how negotiable that might have been).

I am surprised that I see little nothing of SA here, as I listened to several and left very impressed. They seem to be much more popular in Europe.
BayouTiger is offline  
post #37 of 40 Old 12-16-2012, 11:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sdg4vfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayouTiger View Post

... I am surprised that I see little nothing of SA here, as I listened to several and left very impressed. They seem to be much more popular in Europe.

In my experience forum folks try to comment/advise only on speakers they've heard. SA speakers are just hard to find/buy here in the US - like Tannoy or several other very good speaker brands.
sdg4vfx is offline  
post #38 of 40 Old 12-17-2012, 02:51 AM
Member
 
BayouTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We only have one decent dealer here in New Orleans. I did not realize they were that hard to find until doing more research after I bought them. Shame, cause they were very impressive.
BayouTiger is offline  
post #39 of 40 Old 12-21-2012, 03:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slickmastajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
u7uqe4uj.jpg

Sent from my SGH-T889 aka "Galaxy Note 2" running the Force v6.1 using Tapatalk 2
slickmastajay is offline  
post #40 of 40 Old 12-21-2012, 03:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slickmastajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Momentary placement till I get everything in order just moved to a new home

Sent from my SGH-T889 aka "Galaxy Note 2" running the Force v6.1 using Tapatalk 2
slickmastajay is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off