Troubleshooting help with Definitive Technology's ProSub 60 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2012, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bdmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased a 5.1 set from Newegg from Definitive Technology. It got really good reviews, and only cost about 220 so I jumped on it.
I have a brand new Pioneer VSX 1122-k.

I hooked up all the speakers and the sub and ran MCACC. It couldn't find the subwoofer. When I set it to yes anyway it said it was turned too low.
I'm using a cable I purchased from bestbuy that I believe was labeled "subwoofer cable" it has 2 male purple ends. I simply stuck one end into sub pre-out 1 and one into LFE. I tried a RCA cable, only plugging one color into the sub pre-out 1 and the LFE. Still got nothing.

I then took my L speaker's wire and put that into the input terminals on the subwoofer to see if that would work, because I know the speaker is working. Still got nothing.

I should also mention that when I plug in and unplug the sub I don't hear the audible thump that I'm used to when subs power on.

At this point I THINK it's the subwoofer but I really don't know. I haven't been able to get any sound out of the sub pre-out. I tried using one color of an RCA cable into the sub pre-out and into a set of bookshelf speakers that I know work.

Any advice would be really appreciated. I'm at my wits end, and only want to spend the 50$ to ship it back for a replacement if I'm absolutely sure it's the sub.
bdmcleod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2012, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,298
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Plug an RCA cable into one of the sub's line level inputs.

Tough the center pin on the other end of the cable with your finger.

If you don't get a loud 60 Hz hum, the sub is not working. Is the sub power indicator on?
commsysman is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Yosh70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 2,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Is there a red light that comes on when you attempt to power on the sub?
Yosh70 is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bdmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The sub's shows a red light when plugged in. Typically red lights mean something's amiss, but I don't know for sure if that's the meaning of the light.

I didn't get any sound at all when plugging an RCA into Low-Level in L, R, or the LFE and pressing the other end with a finger.
So I guess the sub is the problem.

Also, what's the ideal wiring setup when I get my sub back? Should I use the purple ended "subwoofer cable" from bestbuy or is there a better cable out there?
bdmcleod is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bdmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. The red light comes on and stays red.
bdmcleod is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,298
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Any old RCA audio cable is fine; low frequencies are not a problem.

Just go from the sub out jack on the receiver to either of the line in jacks on the sub.

Sounds like the sub is dead....BUT...the red light on most means OFF.

Usually there is a green light when on. Is there a microswitch there somewhere? Is the sub gain knob turned up??

If there is an "AUTO-ON" function, it may be that there is a time delay from the time the signal appears until the sub goes on. Touch the finger and hold it there for 10 seconds.

Maybe it is not sensing the signal and turning on.

Check the manual carefully.
commsysman is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bdmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I tried that and still only got the red light.

How can I check the sub-pre outs? I tried hooking up bookshelf speakers to it but didn't get any sound. Maybe it was due to a crossover being set to a level that the speakers weren't able to play, but I don't know.
bdmcleod is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 01:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
UGAd13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Just checked the back of my pro sub 60 (got the same deal you did from the egg...) red light stays on while getting signal. There is no "on/off/auto" switch. Per owners manual it's set to auto on from the factory. Double check youre plugged into the lfe and sub out.

Sub gain should be at 12 o'clock and filter should be set to 150hz.

UGAd13 is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bdmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info.
I have the gain set at 12'o click, and the x-over at 150.

I'm absolutely positive I'm going from sub pre-out to lfe. Do you get an audible thump when turning on the sub?
bdmcleod is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 02:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
UGAd13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Yes, get the thump and buzz/hum when touching the RCA cable like commsysman said above

UGAd13 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off