Polk audio rm6750 vs. Energy Take Classic 5.1 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 01-01-2013, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm new to the audio world and need some help. I Purchased the polk speakers at pc Richard for $195 on 12/7 and have 30 days to return. I can get Energy Take Classic 5.1 for $299. Can anyone offer some opinions as to which is the better speaker set? I know the Energy's are highly recommended on cnet.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 01-01-2013, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 257
The problem with both of those systems is that the front speakers are too small for a decent system sound.

Owners of the Energy Take system repeatedly post on here and say they wish they hadn't bought them , so I would question any positive statements about them.

The one system that you can get in that price range that is noticeably better is the Martin-Logan MLT-2 system. It has somewhat more capable front speakers and a better subwoofer.

For a $300 system, I don't think you can do any better. ($300 currently at newegg).
post #3 of 12 Old 01-01-2013, 07:56 AM

Liked: 10
I have the Energy's and I love them. Can't really speak for the Polk.
post #4 of 12 Old 01-01-2013, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks for the quick responses. I saw the Mtl-2 for $300 as well but I've also seen some negative reviews on them, I think on Amazon. Don't feel like I'm getting clean crisp sound at lower volume levels from the polk system. I also don't feel like they are producing a powerful sound at higher volume levels.

post #5 of 12 Old 01-01-2013, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member

If you want a powerful sound at higher volume levels you are going to have to spend a lot more than $300 for a system!