HTD Level Two VS B&W 685 vs KEF Q100/300: Joe Guys Opinion - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 01-14-2013, 06:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Alright, so as I search for some higher end speakers, don't get me wrong I love these HTD's for the price, I decided to take my HTD Level two bookshelf speakers to a local AV store and put them up against some higher end speaker offerings. I am in the market for floor standers but figured for surrounds in the future I would compare these HTDs and figure it may put some valuable input out there for people. I am not an audio expert, so these are just Joe Guys opinion.

Keep in mind we are comparing ~$200 dollar speaker with speakers that cost 3x as much.

These were tested on a Marantz 50W Stereo AMP/CD Player, FLAC audio files played through my media player in the aux input in a room that was acoustically treated. I don't how much or with what, but their were panels all over the wall and no echo.

Songs used:

Wayman Tisdale: If you want me to stay
Dave Matthews Live at radio city: Some Devil
Dave Matthews live at radio city: Grace Is gone
Eric Calpton and BB King: 3'O Clock Blues
Adele: Set Fire to the Rain
:Yanni Live at El Morro Puerto Rico: The Rain must fall
AC/DC: Back in black

A few others as well, but these were listened to through and through.

First up the HTD Level Two: