Newb needs help picking out speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 37 Old 01-16-2013, 06:39 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a complete newb when it comes to the world of Audio/Video systems and would greatly appreciate expert help choosing a speaker system to complement a Harman Kardon AVR 1700 Receiver.

I want to keep in between $200 to $400, obviously the cheaper I can keep the better but am willing to spend more if there is a compelling reason to do so. The living room, where the system will be placed is about 18 by 14 with high ceilings about 20 feet or a little higher.

I want to make sure the speakers or sub woofers aren't ones that I'll have to worry about the downstairs neighbors complaining but want to have the ability to have crisp clear sound that's reasonable when they're home but allows me enjoy some booming sound when they're out.

The three sets I've thought about are Polk Audio RM705, JBL Cinema 500 and JBL CS480BG. I've always been partial to Bose systems but obviously that'll cost more. I'd greatly appreciate your input in picking out a good speaker set and would be even more great full for any feedback on the receiver or tips to make my entire system that much better.

Thank you in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 Old 01-16-2013, 07:04 AM

are you looking for 5.1 HTIB stuff? or separates that you piece together over time?
post #3 of 37 Old 01-16-2013, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter

Hmm assuming a HTIB comes with a receiver, no? If so then no as I already have a receiver, I am looking for a 5.1 speaker system I can hook up to the Harman Kardon AVR 1700.
post #4 of 37 Old 01-16-2013, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 250
There are some really funky systems that come with a receiver/player and speakers all in one package, but they are low quality and very limited in their connectivity to other equipment.