Can i use any wire as speaker cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-16-2013, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Mik James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I'm aware it's better to use larger cabling when possible and that was my original plan until i found out my receiver plugs aren't cut to receive much better than 18 guage. I have some red primary wire and some sort of blue wire lying around, my dad uses it mostly for wiring in cars.
Is it safe to use one kind of wire for both the main and ground wires? Does it matter if it's copper or otherwise?
Mik James is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-16-2013, 02:14 PM
Member
 
neuspeed94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You want to use 100% copper speaker wire.

neuspeed94 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-16-2013, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Mik James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I want to or i have to?
Mik James is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-16-2013, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1192
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-16-2013, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Mik James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Thanks For the info, I had a feeling wire is wire. Anyways I dug up some 18 gauge Grote
Brand primary wire in both black and red (convenient), the cable run is only 3' right now for testing at low volume. The jacks on the amp are just spring jacks and seem to be pretty well limited to a max of 16 gauge wire.
Mik James is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-16-2013, 07:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mik James View Post

I want to or i have to?

You don't have to. But if you choose to use CCA (copper-clad aluminum) wire, keep in mind that it's less efficient at carrying a signal than same-gauge copper wire. e.g. 16-gauge CCA wire is equivalent to 18-gauge copper wire, 14-guage CCA is equivalent to 16-gauge copper wire, etc. Radio Shack may still carry real copper wire, but other local stores (Home Depot, Walmart, Target, etc) may have only CCA wire. If the packaging does not state "pure copper", or "XX% OGC", etc, then assume that it is CCA.
skriefal is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off