JBL L890 (L880) with Yamaha RX-V573 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 02-02-2013, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to the topic, but in the past week I did a lot of research on various floor speakers and receivers and I think I settled on the JBL L890 (or L880) and the Yamaha RX-V573.

There are really a lot of options out there in terms of speakers, but I found these ones as a good combination of looks and sound quality (although neither of these were assessed in person, but just from photos and online reviews and forums). I also considered pretty seriously the Polk TSi500, Klipsch WF-35, Polk RTI A7 or Yamaha NS777, but in the end I kind of settled on the JBLs (I may still change my mind, but probably not).

Anyway, the second choice is that of the receiver and here I excluded Onkyo (seem like they have reliability issues), Pioneer (seem like their networking is not very good and I do plan to play a lot of music from my PC or internet radio) and in the end settled for the Yamaha since it seemed like the better value out of the rest (Denon, HK, Sony). I only plan to buy two fronts and maybe later a sub and a center, but I chose the RX-V573 rather than RX-V474 because of the higher power and the bi-amp feature.

Do you think that the two would work well together? I've read that the JBL L890s need a lot of power and thus as I said above, I chose the RX-V573 (which can also bi-amp), but I'm still not sure whether that's enough and since I read somewhere here that not enough power for a given speaker can lead to pretty disappointing outcomes, I wanted to be sure that the two would work out well together.

Anyway, if you have any suggestions of any kind, I would appreciate them. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 02-02-2013, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 102