Speakers for garage and patio - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 02-03-2013, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a newbie whose been researching some speakers/receivers for while now. But I have a couple questions before I make my purchases.

My house is under construction and had been pre-wired to have a 4 speakers in living room, 2 in garage (22x30) & 2 on the back patio (18x10). To keep the wife happy, I'm going to put in-ceiling speakers. I will be using an ONKYO TX-NR515 (http://www.amazon.com/Onkyo-TX-NR515-7-2-Channel-Network-Receiver/dp/B0077V88VI) w/ a speaker selector (http://www.amazon.com/Pyle-PSS4-4-Channel-Speaker-Selector/dp/B000NJHAFQ/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1359914472&sr=1-2&keywords=pyle+speaker+selector) so that I can turn off garage and outside speakers while watching tv when I would like.

For the garage, I was looking at using OSD ACE800 (http://www.outdoorspeakerdepot.com/acneinar8pai.html) as I've read some really good things about them. Has anyone had any experience with using these & would they be good fit in my large garage? My only concern is if these will hold up in garage down here Louisiana. I would really like to only spend no more than $200/pair for the garage.

For the back patio, I was thinking something needs to be more durable with the weather and possibility of getting wet. I was looking at the OSD ICE600TTWRS (http://www.outdoorspeakerdepot.com/weather-resistant-in-ceiling-speakers.html). What are your thoughts on these? Would they be a good fit for my patio? For the patio, I'm not looking to spend more than $200/pair.

Still have no decided on living room speakers, so these 2 areas are what I'm focusing on for now.

Thanks for any insight.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 02-03-2013, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Personally, I wouldn't buy anything with the Pyle pro name. Just cheap crap!