Sick of decisions....about to take the plunge on DV62si - AVS Forum
Speakers > Sick of decisions....about to take the plunge on DV62si
shishkabab's Avatar shishkabab 10:10 AM 02-04-2013
I've been in the market for bookshelf speakers for a couple weeks now and it's just so tough to make a decision. I'm new to all this and keep jumping back and forth. This will eventually be a 2.1 system....but I'd like to start getting the pieces together. My budget for the speakers are roughly 250 and I just came across these:

http://www.amazon.com/BIC-America-DV62si-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00006JPDI/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1300770174&sr=1-10

Looks like a deal for 113 for a pair. Anything else you guys/gals would recommend before I purchase?

Elihawk's Avatar Elihawk 10:42 AM 02-04-2013
If you can get the Def Tech SM350 for 170 dollars, like you could last week...that is one solid speaker. Nothing against the Bic pair, I haven't heard them- just take the plunge and enjoy!
Newbie01's Avatar Newbie01 10:44 AM 02-04-2013
Lets put it this way... You are the first person I ever heard goign for BIC in a 2.1 configuration. Most of the BIC are for HT in a 5.1 config. Not to say its wrong...but you can find MUCH better speakers off craig list for 250...my two cents.

Much better = Much better on Paper... Only your ears can tell you what is right for you.

HTD, Aperion, HSU and EMP have great options in that price range.
shishkabab's Avatar shishkabab 10:53 AM 02-04-2013
Thanks for the replies.....I wasn't aware this is more suited for a 5.1 system....shows just how much a noob I am smile.gif

I've also been looking at the Cambridge S30......I'm wondering....would these be fine if place about 3 feet apart on the entertainment center...I don't want to get stands for them.

Also.....would the S30 be better suited for a 2.1 system? Thanks for the help!
Louquid's Avatar Louquid 11:14 AM 02-04-2013