I´m lost - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-16-2013, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
maranellofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I'm in a big dilemma. My system consists of a receiver: Rotel Rsx-1057, front speakers: Sonus Faber Concertino, cd player: Audiolab cdq 8200 and subwoofer: Rel Quake.
The Audiolab is a fresh addition, and everything seemed fine. Ater sometime i now realise that something does not sound as expected. The sound is sometimes slightly metalic and somewhat compressed. Although the Audiolab is the most recent piece, I am in doubt about which part of the system to change: Should I add an integrated amplifier? Should i change to a more efficient speakers? Should i send the Audiolab away?
I'm lost!
maranellofan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-16-2013, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Espo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Delmarva Peninsula, Maryland
Posts: 1,972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by maranellofan View Post

Hi,
I'm in a big dilemma. My system consists of a receiver: Rotel Rsx-1057, front speakers: Sonus Faber Concertino, cd player: Audiolab cdq 8200 and subwoofer: Rel Quake.
The Audiolab is a fresh addition, and everything seemed fine. Ater sometime i now realise that something does not sound as expected. The sound is sometimes slightly metalic and somewhat compressed. Although the Audiolab is the most recent piece, I am in doubt about which part of the system to change: Should I add an integrated amplifier? Should i change to a more efficient speakers? Should i send the Audiolab away?
I'm lost!

Don't be in so much of a hurry to blame the equipment just yet. What material are you listening to? Is everything set properly, and placed properly in the room? Is your room " live" ...lots of hard surfaces?

Espo77
Espo77 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-16-2013, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Paraneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I agree with Espo. You have a nice assortment of components so I would first question the source material and your listening room. Your SF's are not very efficient but you are using a subwoofer so the Rotel should have plenty of power for your speakers.

Most CD's do sound compressed. Your word metallic could also be construed as cold or clinical. Couple this with a highly reflective room full of hard surfaces, and this could be your problem. How are your speakers placed relative to the listening position? Speaker placement as absolutely critical for a great sounding system.

Finally you say your CD player is the most recent acquisition. What did you use for a source component before that? How did you like the sound of your system then? To your ears, was it better, worse, the same? Start asking yourself all of these questions first before you attempt wholesale changes to your equipment. Like I said - you got pretty good stuff right now. Good luck.

Parasound 5125, Parasound 2100, Pro-ject RM 5.1SE, Dynavector 10x5, Pro-ject Phono Box S, Pro-ject Speed Box II, Arcam FMJ CD17, Pioneer Elite VSX-52, Pioneer Elite BDP-52FD, Vienna Acoustics Bach Grands, Vienna Acoustics Theatro Grand, Wharfedale Diamond 9.2s, REL T-1 & Panasonic TC-P54S1
Paraneer is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-17-2013, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
maranellofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, thanks a lot for your help. I listen to almost everything, from classical to jazz, from pop to rock, from easy listenning to alternative... and yes everything is set properly, but will do a revision.
My room is not bad at all, but i'm gonna consult an acoustic specialist about this. My previous source was a Marantz SA7001, and now everything sounds globally better, but i would say that the main issues that i dislike, are about the same. I made this change so i could use the "external dac feature" from the audiolab.
Regards.
maranellofan is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off