Need help with my home theater speak setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 02-26-2013, 12:39 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I am a novice home theater user and had a couple of questions related to the speakers installation and set up.

I am using a Denon 3808CI receiver and plan to connect to Infinity speakers. I have two possible configurations:
6 Infinity (floor standing) P363 and Infinity PC351 for center channel.
or
2 Infinity (floor standing) P363 for front speakers, Infinity PC351 for center channel and Infinity P163BK for surround and rear speakers.

I intend to get a Hsu Subwoofer.

Can you please advice on any pros and cons of the above possible combinations?

Also,
Is it true that I should have the speaker cables having identical length (say for two front speakers) even though the speakers are not at the same distance from the receiver?
What kind of cable should I be using for these speakers?
I had a basic question about banana plugs (I've never used them before). What kind of banana plugs should I be using for the speakers and the receiver?

I would highly appreciate any response from the experts.

Thanks a lot.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 02-26-2013, 01:11 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 65
I generally use the same-length cable for the corresponding speaker pair, like Left/Right, Surround Left/Right, etc. I don't think it matters all that much since Audyssey will set up your delays accordingly.

As far as cables, there is a thread on how to make your own cables. You can also buy ready-made cables from Monoprice, Parts Express, or Blue Jeans Cable.

You can terminate with Monoprice banana plugs, but I think Nakamichi or GLS Audio bananas are better quality.