Newbie needs help setting up Pioneer SP BS22 speakers, SW 8 MK2 sub, and lepai amp - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 12:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
IJ300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received my brand new speakers, amp, and sub. However, I did not buy any speaker wire or RCA cables. I'm totally new to this, and I need a little help choosing which stereo wire and other accessories I need for a set up that will work well with my desk top computer.

Is all speaker wire the same? Should I just go to Amazon and choose any type of speaker wire?

Any help is appreciated, and I would like it if you'd post links to the equipment I need.

Thanks.

Here are some pics:

Lepai

IMG_20130306_134506.jpg

Amp

IMG_20130306_233908.jpg

Speakers

IMG_20130306_233828.jpg
IJ300 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 12:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
14 or 16 guage wire should work fine. I am not sure how you are going to connect a subwoofer to that amp since it doesn't have a subwoofer connection. I think it can be done, but I am not sure how.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #3 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 01:02 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
IJ300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help. Excuse my ignorance, but can't I use an rca cable to connect the amp to the sub?
IJ300 is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 08:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 383
No, because the Lepai amp doesn't have a subwoofer output. Those RCA jacks on the Lepai are audio inputs, not outputs.

I have two Lepai amps so I know this unit very well.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #5 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 08:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 383
You need this Lepai amp which has two sets of speaker terminals and one set of line outputs.
http://www.amazon.com/Lepai-LP-269FS-Watts-Amplifier-Remote/dp/B0073WTG6M/ref=pd_sim_e_3

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #6 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 08:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cel4145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 11,676
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Yes. This can work.

You need a splitter that can run the sound from your computer to your Lepai AND your subwoofer. Then connect your speakers to the Lepai.

Once you have that hooked up, you'll have to balance your Lepai and subwoofer volumes, and from then on, use the main volume control on your computer.

Your questions are answered: Speaker FAQ
HT: Energy RC-50, RC-LCR, Veritas VS Surrounds | Dual CHT SS 18.1s | Denon AVR-888 | modified Dayton SA1000 | Antimode 8033C
Desktop: CBM-170 SE | SVS SB-1000 | Audio-GD NFB-11 | HK 3390
Headphone & Portable HE-400 | K612 Pro | HP150 | DX50 | E12
cel4145 is online now  
post #7 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 09:43 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
IJ300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the help. Do you have a link or a picture of the particular splitter I need?
IJ300 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 12:59 PM
Newbie
 
jtothar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Burque
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cel4145 View Post

Yes. This can work.

You need a splitter that can run the sound from your computer to your Lepai AND your subwoofer. Then connect your speakers to the Lepai.

Once you have that hooked up, you'll have to balance your Lepai and subwoofer volumes, and from then on, use the main volume control on your computer.

Am I nuts or does his sub have line level inputs on it? Cant he just run a set of speaker wires from the lepai to the line level inputs on the back of his sub?
jtothar is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 01:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Robert Cook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Diego County, CA, USA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Use one of these to split the audio signal from your computer:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021808&p_id=667&seq=1&format=2

One of these to connect from the splitter to the amp:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021802&p_id=644&seq=1&format=2

And one of these to connect from the splitter to the subwoofer:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021804&p_id=665&seq=1&format=2

If you need different lengths or prefer the premium cable options (not usually necessary and some are heavy and stiff), then you can find them here:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtothar View Post

Am I nuts or does his sub have line level inputs on it? Cant he just run a set of speaker wires from the lepai to the line level inputs on the back of his sub?

That was my first thought (or he could run them from the speakers to the sub--same thing), using the speaker-level or "HI-LEVEL" inputs, but on second thought with the 3.5mm-to-RCA connection he could use the crossover control, which may or may not (usually not, on most subs) be active with the speaker-level inputs.
Robert Cook is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 01:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cel4145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 11,676
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtothar View Post

Am I nuts or does his sub have line level inputs on it? Cant he just run a set of speaker wires from the lepai to the line level inputs on the back of his sub?

I'd always wondered about this. Depending on the impedance of that connection, is it effectively acting like running sub in series with the speakers?

Your questions are answered: Speaker FAQ
HT: Energy RC-50, RC-LCR, Veritas VS Surrounds | Dual CHT SS 18.1s | Denon AVR-888 | modified Dayton SA1000 | Antimode 8033C
Desktop: CBM-170 SE | SVS SB-1000 | Audio-GD NFB-11 | HK 3390
Headphone & Portable HE-400 | K612 Pro | HP150 | DX50 | E12
cel4145 is online now  
post #11 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 01:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Robert Cook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Diego County, CA, USA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by cel4145 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtothar View Post

Am I nuts or does his sub have line level inputs on it? Cant he just run a set of speaker wires from the lepai to the line level inputs on the back of his sub?

I'd always wondered about this. Depending on the impedance of that connection,

If the subwoofer is properly designed, then the impedance of its speaker-level input should be very high, like in the thousands of ohms--all it's doing is sensing the voltage of the signal, not drawing a significant amount of power.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cel4145 View Post

is it effectively acting like running sub in series with the speakers?

It should be connected in parallel with the speakers, not in series.
Robert Cook is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 01:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cel4145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 11,676
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Cook View Post

If the subwoofer is properly designed, then the impedance of its speaker-level input should be very high, like in the thousands of ohms--all it's doing is sensing the voltage of the signal, not drawing a significant amount of power.
It should be connected in parallel with the speakers, not in series.

Good to know. Thanks, Robert smile.gif

Your questions are answered: Speaker FAQ
HT: Energy RC-50, RC-LCR, Veritas VS Surrounds | Dual CHT SS 18.1s | Denon AVR-888 | modified Dayton SA1000 | Antimode 8033C
Desktop: CBM-170 SE | SVS SB-1000 | Audio-GD NFB-11 | HK 3390
Headphone & Portable HE-400 | K612 Pro | HP150 | DX50 | E12
cel4145 is online now  
post #13 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 05:14 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
IJ300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I really appreciate all the help.
IJ300 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 08:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Robert Cook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Diego County, CA, USA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by IJ300 View Post

Thanks, I really appreciate all the help.

No problem. wink.gif

Oh, and by the way, although this is moot now, for those who may be curious I just measured the DC resistance (close enough for inputs) of my subwoofer's speaker-level input (while it was off) at 500 ohms--that's less than I was thinking, having other types of inputs in mind, but it's reasonably high. This may be higher or somewhat lower on other subs, but unless the designer is a dummy, it shouldn't be excessively low. 500 ohms means that with 6 ohm speakers, for example, the total "nominal" impedance will be about (6 * 500) / (6 + 500) ~= 5.9 ohms (a gross oversimplification, but sufficiently illustrative), which is hardly devastating for most decent amplifiers.
Robert Cook is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 08:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cel4145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 11,676
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Cook View Post

No problem. wink.gif

Oh, and by the way, although this is moot now, for those who may be curious I just measured the DC resistance (close enough for inputs) of my subwoofer's speaker-level input (while it was off) at 500 ohms--that's less than I was thinking, having other types of inputs in mind, but it's reasonably high. This may be higher or somewhat lower on other subs, but unless the designer is a dummy, it shouldn't be excessively low. 500 ohms means that with 6 ohm speakers, for example, the total "nominal" impedance will be about (6 * 500) / (6 + 500) ~= 5.9 ohms (a gross oversimplification, but sufficiently illustrative), which is hardly devastating for most decent amplifiers.

Thanks again, Robert. That's really good to hear. I've got an old HK AVR 35 that everything connected with DSP functionality is burned out. No sub out. Even the headphone jack. Only thing working is the main direct out to the left/right channels, which makes it fine for stereo usage. Was thinking I need a sub with speaker level line in and line out to run with it, but I guess not smile.gif

Your questions are answered: Speaker FAQ
HT: Energy RC-50, RC-LCR, Veritas VS Surrounds | Dual CHT SS 18.1s | Denon AVR-888 | modified Dayton SA1000 | Antimode 8033C
Desktop: CBM-170 SE | SVS SB-1000 | Audio-GD NFB-11 | HK 3390
Headphone & Portable HE-400 | K612 Pro | HP150 | DX50 | E12
cel4145 is online now  
post #16 of 16 Old 03-10-2013, 12:37 AM
Newbie
 
HillaryClinton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Cook View Post

Use one of these to split the audio signal from your computer:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021808&p_id=667&seq=1&format=2

One of these to connect from the splitter to the amp:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021802&p_id=644&seq=1&format=2

And one of these to connect from the splitter to the subwoofer:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021804&p_id=665&seq=1&format=2

If you need different lengths or prefer the premium cable options (not usually necessary and some are heavy and stiff), then you can find them here:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218
That was my first thought (or he could run them from the speakers to the sub--same thing), using the speaker-level or "HI-LEVEL" inputs, but on second thought with the 3.5mm-to-RCA connection he could use the crossover control, which may or may not (usually not, on most subs) be active with the speaker-level inputs.

This setup for the lepai....can it work for the Marantz SR-8000? It technically has a sub out but it deactivates once you leave source direct mode(rendering the music quality pretty bad when compared). I would love the sub to work with music when in source direct mode but have not found a solution thus far. I have the exact same speakers and sub as the original poster, I was almost going to buy the same amp but was told the Marantz was way better sound wise for music which I am sure is true given its retail price when it came out but the lack of sub is ruining the experience.

I don't mind controlling he crossover and volume from the back of the sub I just want the sound quality of the source direct with the lows that the sub gives me. Any help would be greatly appreciated, I have been goin a bit Crazy trying to find a solution and would hate to get rid of the Marantz since I payed 60 bucks for it and lugged it back to my house which was a days workout given its weight and how long I was walking with it :-\.

Edit: Figured it out, just needed a 3.5 splitter and 2 RCA to 3.5 cords, works now, just need to control the woofer from the back. Thanks though Robert, figured it out based on your suggestions for the Lepai.
HillaryClinton is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off