sub issue on Def Tech Pro600 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2013, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vdubbed81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently installed this system,have it hooked up to a Denon 1913. The issue is that when I turn the system on, the sub is supposed to recognize the signal and also turn on automatically, however, it is not doing that. The status light goes from a steady red when the system is off, to a flashing red when I turn the system on (it's supposed to turn green). I've found if I unplug the sub for a little while and then plug it back in, it works as it should. Suggestions?

PS: I should note, that I have the sub hooked up using def tech's "method 1", where the fronts run through the sub instead of straight from the receiver. Could this be the issue?
vdubbed81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-10-2013, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,301
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 258
I would suggest that the main speakers be connected directly to the receiver.

The sub input can then be connected to the receiver subwoofer output (or to the speaker terminals) as needed.

Use Method 2 as outlined in your manual.
commsysman is offline  
Old 03-10-2013, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 194
vdubbed, first, there is a "Definitive Owners Thread,"

http://www.avsforum.com/t/625807/definitive-owners-thread

and also a ProCinema thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/863945/definitive-technology-procinema-series-600-800-1000-or-60-80-100-thread

...that are monitored by many DT owners and also one of their staffers. I would also suggest that just calling DT's excellent US-based CS will get you help directly.

You do want to make sure the sub is getting enough signal to keep it turned on, and the best way to do that is to use the LFE Out connection on the AVR to the corresponding input on the sub, and then to turn up the Subwoofer Level on the AVR to 0 or higher. If this makes the sub too loud, us its own level control to reduce the level.

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is offline  
Old 03-10-2013, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vdubbed81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just switched it over to method 2, the only thing that has changed is that the status light now holds a steady red instead of flashing. (This is the third time turning it on and each time, if I unplug the sub for a little while and plug it back in it works fine)
vdubbed81 is offline  
Old 03-10-2013, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vdubbed81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oddly enough, (now setup using "method 2"), I powered the system down for a while and when I turned it back on, the subwoofer powered on as it's supposed to. Hopefully it continues to do so. Thanks for your help.
vdubbed81 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off