Small Bookshelf Speakers ~300 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 27 Old 03-12-2013, 08:03 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I'm new to the a/v world and need some help. I have been lurking for about a week on avs, audioholics and hometheaterforum. During that time I researched some bookshelf speakers and am having a hard time deciding. My budget is around 300 pr (~700 for 5.0, will go B stock) and I would like to mount them to the ceiling or wall. My preferences are about 95% movies/5% music. My room size is 16x18x12. I already have a klipsch rw-12d and denon avr 1713. Also, my preferred size would be less than 12x9x9.

My researched speakers are:

1) Ascend HTM 200SE's
2) Cambridge S30 (no holes in back for mounting)
3) PSB Image B4
4) Energy CB-10's
5) Klipsch RB-41 II (Interested in the horn)
6) NHT Absolute Zero/Sub zero combo (try to find them for around 300 pr, most expensive)

If there are others, it would be appreciated if mentioned.

PS I have uploaded the same topic on Audioholics, AVS and Home Theater Forums. Just like a doctor's diagnosis, I want to see different opinions. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 03-12-2013, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter

Anybody?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
post #3 of 27 Old 03-12-2013, 12:53 PM

post #4 of 27 Old 03-12-2013, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 51
1) Ascend HTM 200SE's
Refined, clean, detailed sound for this price point, and great output for its size.
Can be crossed over at 80 Hz.
Works best as a center when oriented horizontally.
Sealed enclosure is ideal for mounting with its threaded inserts.
Can be mounted flush against the wall, but lacks built-in keyhole mount (you could install one and some rubber feet or run a wire between the bolts).
B-stock is available for 12% off here: http://www.ascendacoustics.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=9HT20SBM2BS&Category_Code=BSTOCK