Please Help! Need Speakers! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 25 Old 03-15-2013, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a novice but I know a little about home theater and the components of them. I have $1300 to spend on speakers. I have a Marantz SR5005 but I need some quality speakers with them. How about the KEF C7's, MartinLogan Motion 20, or some other ones. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 03-15-2013, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 726
How many speakers you thinking of? Subwoofer(s)?

post #3 of 25 Old 03-15-2013, 11:20 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 21
Movies or music? Is sound more important than looks, or are they both important (wife or girlfriend acceptance)?

For those looking into getting Energy speakers, or upgrading their current Energy setup, here are some reviews I've written that may help:http://www.tempestaudio.blogspot.com  (haven't updated in a while, but include Energy Take Classic 5.1, RC-10, CF-70, and CC-10)

post #4 of 25 Old 03-16-2013, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter

Either a 5.1 or 7.1, but with the 7.1, I would use front height instead of the other way. I would like Nice looking speaker that are black. 50% Music, 50% Movies. The looks and sound are both important.
post #5 of 25 Old 03-16-2013, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macstatic View Post

Movies or music? Is sound more important than looks, or are they both important (wife or girlfriend acceptance)?

50% Music and 50% Movies. They are both important .
post #6 of 25 Old 03-16-2013, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member

How big is your room and how loud are you planning on listening? (assuming just using the receiver for amp). Your budget is kinda skinny for a 7.1 in any case.

post #7 of 25 Old 03-16-2013, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post