New to Audio, need speaker recommendation - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 2 Old 03-26-2013, 02:17 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I'm a newbie here. I will build my first home theater in Q2.
And here is my budget:
3K USD for projector and screen.
1.5K USD for 5.1 speakers and receiver and cables.

And as i will use a projector, i have to put the speaker below the screen in my small living room, which means the height of the speaker should be less than 9"(the speakers will be put on the shelf).

Is there any recommendations for the speaker?

BTW, i'm at China while i can ship speakers and projectors from US. For receiver and sub i have to buy at China as the voltage is different.

Should i try a soundbar like Yamaha YSP-5100?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 Old 03-27-2013, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry1985 View Post

1.5K USD for 5.1 speakers and receiver and cables.

And as i will use a projector, i have to put the speaker below the screen in my small living room, which means the height of the speaker should be less than 9"(the speakers will be put on the shelf).

Is there any recommendations for the speaker?

With your requirements, normally I would recommend the Cambridge Audio S30 because it has amazing bass output for its size and excellent sound quality for its price:
http://www.audioadvisor.com/prodinfo.asp?number=CAS30

However, despite what this webpage says, it seems to be out of stock everywhere, and the only place I know of that is expecting shipments to arrive from the manufacturer anytime soon does not sell internationally. You may want to check with the retailer linked above to see when or whether it will be in stock again.

There is a smaller related speaker available, the S20:
http://www.audioadvisor.com/prodinfo.asp?number=CAS20