Soundbar hookup - Newbie - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-30-2013, 08:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jyeh74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi everyone,

I am a newbie at audio. I purchased those new soundbars with HDMI connections. I want to connect my TV, to 2 boxes, one is cable box and one is PS3.

On the soundbar, there are
1) HDMI in - HDMI cord from soundbar to cable box.
2) HDMI out - HDMI cord from soundbar to the TV. HDMI port 1

So when I go to HDMI port 1, I get cable TV with the external sound from the soundbar.

How do I avoid switching the HDMI cable from the back of the cable box and plug into the PS3 every single time I want to play games vs watching TV? Do I buy a HDMI cable (plugged into HDMI in on the sound bar) that splits into 2 HDMI cables and put one to the cable box and one to the PS3?

If so, what happens when I am on HDMI port 1 and both cable box and PS3 are turned on? Which one will get the signal?

Probably been done before but its my first time setting this up. I think this sound bar is only set up for one specificed unit (cable box or blu ray player)
jyeh74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-31-2013, 05:34 AM
Member
 
wronganswer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Does the soundbar have an optical input?
wronganswer is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-31-2013, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jyeh74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I see two additional ports
1) Optical In
2) Aux in

Not sure how that would connect to the PS3 though?
jyeh74 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-31-2013, 11:42 AM
Member
 
wronganswer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ps3 to hdmi and cable box to optical.
wronganswer is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-31-2013, 12:00 PM
Member
 
wronganswer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Your cable box can send digital sound to the soundbar via optical cable
wronganswer is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 03-31-2013, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
ps3 hdmi to tv,
cablebox hdmi to tv,
tv optical to soundbar.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ifor is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 03-31-2013, 07:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jyeh74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifor View Post

ps3 hdmi to tv,
cablebox hdmi to tv,
tv optical to soundbar.

That works. HDMI for cablebox to TV. Another HDMI for PS3 to TV. Optical from soundbar to TV and now it works for all devices.

Then what is the point of having the "HDMI in" and "HDMI out" connections on the soundbar?


I can connect my laptop with a HDMI cable to the "HDMI in" on the soundbar to use it as speakers. But then there is no use for the "HDMI out" function
jyeh74 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-01-2013, 07:55 AM
Member
 
wronganswer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Then what is the point of having the "HDMI in" and "HDMI out" connections on the soundbar?

Connect the ps3 to hdmi in and your tv to hdmi out. You might get better sound with hdmi
wronganswer is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-01-2013, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by wronganswer View Post

Then what is the point of having the "HDMI in" and "HDMI out" connections on the soundbar?

Connect the ps3 to hdmi in and your tv to hdmi out. You might get better sound with hdmi

Nope.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ifor is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-01-2013, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jyeh74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Originally that is what I did, two HDMI cords from cablebox to soundbar and then to TV.
Sounds the same as the optical cable from the soundbar to the TV.

HDMI is for video and audio transfer.

I am not sure why there are "HDMI out" on the soundbar. I cannot figure out a use for it.

Maybe some TVs do not have optical outputs so they can only use HDMI? I don't know........,,
jyeh74 is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off