Speaker Base Options For Maximum Bass - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 04-09-2013, 03:19 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Forums noob here... So I recently bought a pair of Kef XQ10 bookshelf speakers. I realize they are not a very bass-oriented speaker to begin with, and it will take 60-100 hours for them to find their voice regardless, but I'd like to maximize what bass they do (or will) have...

The speakers come with two base options...

The first are three thick metal spikes which screw into the bottom of the speaker, and can be used alone or on the included protective metal discs. I'd use the discs to protect my credenza top... They are basically just small discs machined down so that the point of the spike rests in the center, and they have thin fuzzy fabric on the side which makes contact with whatever they are placed on.

The second option can only be described as concave rubber wedges... They are rectangular, maybe 7 inches long by 5 inches wide and have a curved or concave top portion. Since these Kefs have a rounded bottom portion, they basically fit on top of / into the wedges, where they can be slid forward or backward to position the speaker either level or slightly up. The rubber is nice and thick, maybe 3/4" at the thickest and 1/3" at the thinnest. The speakers feel very stable on top of the wedges.

My gut tells me using the rubber wedges may produce better bass, but what do I know. I'd love it if some speaker experts would give me their opinions...

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 04-09-2013, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1353
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starter View Post

I'd like to maximize what bass they do (or will) have...
The speakers come with two base options...
The first are three thick metal spikes which screw into the bottom of the speaker,
The second option can only be described as concave rubber wedges...