Speaker switch - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-18-2013, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Newman15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New to forum, I have a newer pioneer receiver (822k) and it does not support speaker A and B. if I had known this when I bought it I would of upgraded. We are finishing back yard and installing exterior speakers that I wanted to wire into the receiver as it has airplay. But I'm stuck. No way to switch speakers. Can I buy one of these switches and put it on the wire line. I really have no idea what to do. I'm open to ideas. You guys steer me right here please.

Thanks
Newman15 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-18-2013, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 744
You have read page 14 of your manual and followed the instructions and it doesn't work? http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Unassigned-Content/Manuals/VSX-1022-K+OPERATING+INSTRUCTIONS

ps crap, misread that on the first go....d'oh I hate that Pioneer sharing of manuals between models.

Yes, sometimes you have to read the specs....but when I looked for a list of features I didn't see zone or a/b mentioned...

lovinthehd is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-18-2013, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Newman15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea it's the 822 and doesn't support zone or a, b. could i do switch?
Newman15 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 05-18-2013, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 744
I don't see why not as long as the switch is appropriate to your setup and use. why not just get a small amp instead and use the pre-outs? Too late to return the 822?

lovinthehd is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-18-2013, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Newman15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's to late to return it, if I got a small amp I wouldn't be able to wirelessly control it from my iPhone how I can now
Newman15 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-18-2013, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newman15 View Post

It's to late to return it, if I got a small amp I wouldn't be able to wirelessly control it from my iPhone how I can now

You need more than controlling the volume?

lovinthehd is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-18-2013, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Newman15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Song changes from iTunes, And to not have my satellite sound playing though outside speakers
Newman15 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-18-2013, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newman15 View Post

Song changes from iTunes, And to not have my satellite sound playing though outside speakers

Where's your iTunes? You can control it now on your phone or remote don't see why that would change. The only downside I see is the loss of on/off on the speakers, i.e. being able to turn off B from outside, if using another amp, it's not the front height channel feed, it's a speaker B (2 ch) feed, i.e. your l/r speakers.

PS our are you wanting multichannel sound outside?

PPS now I reread that bit I think my fuzzy head today did it again (home sick)....it appears only to allow you multiple channel access if you read it one way, but why call it speaker b if it doesn't play the mains? Sneaky to call it speaker b if it doesn't play the main channels.

Have you looked for a thread for this particular avr? Might be some insight there.

lovinthehd is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-10-2013, 07:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Newman15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry for the extremely long reply. Yes I want to run multichannel outside. I don't care about controlling speaker switching from outside. I temporarily bought a speaker switch, And it does work fine, however the impedance poses a problem as it will over heat my receiver running 4 fronts.. Unless I leave off my interior front speakers.(but the rears and centre, sub are still on).... As per the pre outs on the back, I tried hooking up an older 2.1 amp to the pre outs via the CD input on the older amp. But I get no sound. It says they are for front height and surround back speakers. can someone explain pre outs? I might look at getting a better speaker selector switch, Unless you can think of something else. Returning the receiver is not an option.
Newman15 is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off