Newbie here- Please help me assemble this.. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 43 Old 05-20-2013, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Folks,

I am totally new to setting up HT. I would appreciate if you can help. I also posted in AV receiver forum to see if I can get any idea but decided to post here as well to get any thoughts.

Basic Info:

Room Size: Living room- 15X24
Motive: Watching Movies and music.
Blue Rat player: PS3-- Not really a gamer.
Other Important Stuff: Airplay will be helpful but not required. I have Apple TV

Budget- Maximum $700-800

Options that I am looking at

Energy Take Classic 5.1 + Yamaha V 673 ( Looking to Upgrade to 7.2 in future)

Energy Take Classic 5.0 + Polk PSW 505 + Yamaha V 673 or Denon 1613

MLT -2 with above receivers?

Questions

1. I don't know if it makes sense for above config for my needs
2. Any other Speaker and AV combo that you all would suggest?
3. Any other AVR you would suggest?
4. What would be your pic suggest from above settings?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 43 Old 05-20-2013, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 1017 Post(s)
Liked: 523
Big room to fill... small budget. Sure you couldn't squeeze a bit more out of your wallet? biggrin.gif You'll end up with a much better system.

While far better than Bose (that's not hard), the Energy Take's are puny mini cubes and will easily crap out trying to push sound into that room volume, especially on movie soundtracks.

Check out Ascend Acoustics' CMT line, Arx (via The Audio Insider.com), HSU Research HB-1 horn-loaded speakers (HSU also has good package deals with their quality subs), etc. for good bang vs. buck/better-than-starter models from well regarded Internet Direct companies.

The Klipsch RW-12d is considered a good beginners 12" sub and it's on promo code sale right now for two more days (til 5/22) via Newegg.com. Would best any one of the subs you listed.