Need advice on buying my first system. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 30 Old 05-27-2013, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. I'm new to buying sound systems and could use some advice.

I'm looking to get two speakers and subwoofer with about $250. What would be the best bang for my buck? Also, any amplifier/receiver advice would be much appreciated as well.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 Old 05-27-2013, 09:30 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 102
My general advice would be for you to get some 2-way bookshelf speakers that would be of decent quality, and don't get a sub. The reason is that almost any small sub is going to run you about $100, leaving you with a pair of $150 speakers. Most of the full range of sound will come out of your main speakers, not the sub, so go there first.

http://www.frys.com/product/7237393?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

Symmetry pleases the eye, but it usually offends the ears where low frequencies are concerned. -Yoda Fitzmaurice
post #3 of 30 Old 05-28-2013, 01:59 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 96
+1 on skipping a sub with that budget.

Some commonly recommended speakers in the $250 budget range ...
Cambridge Audio S30 bookshelf - $220 a pair.
Pioneer SP-FS52 tower - $250 a pair.

The Pioneer will play louder and just a bit lower, but the S30's will have a better, more detailed sound overall.

If you can bump up to a $300 budget the Ascend CBM-170 SE and Arx A1b are commonly recommended and well respected bookshelf speakers at that price point. (There is a dedicated thread comparing those two in the forum.)

All the speakers listed above would work fine on their own, and, would sound excellent with the addition of a sub later. Also, if you decide to expand to 5.1 later all these speakers have centers/surrounds that are currently available.