Looking for a Pair of Floor Standing Fronts for around $500 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 71 Old 06-17-2013, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Everyone!

I just moved and I am looking to upgrade my front speakers. I am new to the HT world so I was hoping for some advice/recommendations.

I currently have a pioneer VSX-822K receiver, I have a Martin Logan Motion 8 for a center channel, I will be using Martin Logan Motion 10's for rears (they used to be my fronts), and I have a Polk PSW 10 sub-woofer.

I am looking for a pair of fronts that have a nice wide sound stage so my imaging optimal zone isn't as tight as my ML's were.

Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks in advance! If you need more information please let me know.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 71 Old 06-17-2013, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Not sure what your budget is, but unless you plan on replacing your center you need yo stick with ML Motion series

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0035FZ14M/ref=redir_mdp_mobile
post #3 of 71 Old 06-17-2013, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 577
Quote:
... unless you plan on replacing your center you need yo stick with ML Motion series
+1. According to the ML website, the Motion series includes Motion 20 and Motion 40 towers. A pair of those might also be worth considering.
post #4 of 71 Old 06-17-2013, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 65
It may be to your advantage to do some reading about dispersion and different types of tweeters. Aparrently with ribbons, moving outside the sweet spot can cause a drop in output. I understand that ribbons are great sounding but do have deficiencies .
post #5 of 71 Old 06-17-2013, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter