Newb putting together 7.1 system - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 24 Old 06-18-2013, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone, I'm a newb putting together my entertainment room. Ordered a BenQ w1070 to be projected on a 106" Jamestown screen. Now working on the surround. I'm on a small budget for my intro level system. I bought a Yamaha RX-V575 Receiver. Has 3D pass through, is 7.1, and has 5 HDMI in ports. Can support 4K displays (doesn't help me now, just trying to somewhat future proof things where I can).
After all that, I have about $1500 left for speakers/sub. I realize this isn't much, but was hoping you all could suggest some specific speakers for my 7.1 surround system. I know nothing about this so any suggestions are helpful!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 06-18-2013, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jp86 View Post

Hey everyone, I'm a newb putting together my entertainment room. Ordered a BenQ w1070 to be projected on a 106" Jamestown screen. Now working on the surround. I'm on a small budget for my intro level system. I bought a Yamaha RX-V575 Receiver. Has 3D pass through, is 7.1, and has 5 HDMI in ports. Can support 4K displays (doesn't help me now, just trying to somewhat future proof things where I can).
After all that, I have about $1500 left for speakers/sub. I realize this isn't much, but was hoping you all could suggest some specific speakers for my 7.1 surround system. I know nothing about this so any suggestions are helpful!
I agree about starting with a 5.1 system.

Not that much source material for 7.1 out there.

Also, how big is your room and how much of what type of material will you be listening to?

Thanks.
post #3 of 24 Old 06-18-2013, 03:59 PM

Liked: 16